Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

  1. #1

    Default Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    I find it incredible that installing and running reputable software such as Clamav on my system should be a major problem. I have openSUSE 11.3 with kde 4.5.2 desktop and when I try and install clamav using Yast the files are downloaded into old kde3 directory and nothing works. Surely getting an antivirus program up and running should be straightforward so where am I going wrong?
    Help here would be much appreciated.
    Budgie2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    Weird...its fine here....

    Did you install another soft, its a problem installing just Clamav or no one soft can be install?


    if no one has been installed try on terminal

    Code:
    rpm --builddb
    if just clamav cannot been installed, try install clamav through terminal

    zypper install clamav

    if it does not works, could you paste here your repositories

    Code:
    zypper lr
    OpenSUSE KDE

    Dell Inspiron 1545 Intel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    rpm --builddb
    ...it's '--rebuilddb'. :) - I doubt that the rpm-database causes the problem described here, though.

    But asking for the used repositories is a good idea indeed. Budgie2, where's your Clamav from?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    Budgie2 wrote:
    > I find it incredible that installing and running reputable software
    > such as Clamav on my system should be a major problem.


    imo the major problem is neither the reputable software nor openSUSE
    11.3, but rather your system (read on)


    > I have openSUSE 11.3 with kde 4.5.2 desktop and when I try and
    > install clamav using Yast the files are downloaded into old kde3
    > directory


    so, how did you get to 11.3?
    or, why do you have a kde3 directory?
    and, how broken can YaST happen to be? (that is, i can't imagine why
    it would try to put clamav in there??)

    i guess the answer must be you either upgraded from 10.x or 11.x to
    11.3, right?

    but how did you do that? i _guess_ you kept /home and maybe some or
    all of the old system (by not format installing the non-/home
    partitions)...otherwise it is unlikely you would have a .kde3
    directory....i think..

    anyway, it is therefore, and because what you describe if VERY unusual
    i don't suspect a problem with clamav (thousands use it without the
    major problem you are having) and for sure, not everyone with 11.3 has
    a kde3 directory.....i think.

    > and nothing works.


    yep, that can happen sometimes when you have a mismatch of old and new
    all jumbled up together..


    > Surely getting an antivirus program up and running should be
    > straightforward


    normally it is..


    > so where am I going wrong? Help here would be much
    > appreciated.


    there may be lots of paths to happiness but in my opinion, the most
    straightforward and _sure_ way is to save off to a secure, off machine
    location *all* your data and then do a fresh format install of 11.3
    from known good media (that is, do this before the install:
    http://tinyurl.com/25ydj4a)

    alternatively, do that _and_ save the old home in its entirity but do
    NOT elect to keep the same user ID or /home....just keep the old home
    _in case_ something happens to your backup..

    yes, it will take a while (maybe a long while) to rebuild your desktop
    the way you want it....but, when you are done you won't have a bunch
    of goop in the soup..

    BUT, wait for other opinions...there should be plenty others....and,
    maybe may be better than mine.

    --
    DenverD
    When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,649
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    It's quite simple: you installed clamav, with frontend klamav. The latter is a KDE3 program, so it will pull in a basic KDE3 install, with needed libs at least. I installed clamav and klamav, klamav threw one error after the other at me about update servers not available, mirrors not updated yet, still performs some update, stating it was successful.
    This could be the result of programs not being maintained any longer for KDE3. Don't know.

    Question: why do you want/need an anti-virus program on linux?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    Knurpht wrote:
    > Question: why do you want/need an anti-virus program on linux?


    heh! i've grown tired of asking that, but i am happy you did..(thanks
    for figuring out how he got a kde3 directory! maybe that 'klamav'
    should be scrubbed out of the repo...or....nah, anyone who thinks
    there is a need for klam . . .

    --
    DenverD
    When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD
    yep, that can happen sometimes when you have a mismatch of old and new
    all jumbled up together..
    In case of KDE3 / KDE4 this is just plain wrong. KDE3-configs are still stored in ~/.kde while KDE4-configs are saved in ~/.kde4, so there's no jumbling at all (at least not when using openSUSE, [most?] other distros do not separate these two paths).

    I am using the same /home since SuSE 10.1 and it works well. Why shouldn't it? DenverD, wild guessing won't help anyone.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,649
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by gropiuskalle View Post
    In case of KDE3 / KDE4 this is just plain wrong. KDE3-configs are still stored in ~/.kde while KDE4-configs are saved in ~/.kde4, so there's no jumbling at all (at least not when using openSUSE, [most?] other distros do not separate these two paths).

    I am using the same /home since SuSE 10.1 and it works well. Why shouldn't it? DenverD, wild guessing won't help anyone.
    First, stop personal attacks and the like. We intend to keep the forums a friendly place, so keep it cool. Personal dislike of other forum users/visitors in the public area of the forum will not be tolerated. So stop it or start getting to know each other by PM.

    On the technical part of possible coexistence of KDE3 and 4 you're right. Very well possible.

    I did some sandboxing to find out what could have caused the OP's complaints. He mentions 'old kde3' directory, which used means either /opt/kde3 or ~/.kde, agreed?
    Then, if you search in Yast for 'clamav' it provides the clamav packages and klamav, which is described as a frontend for KDE. So I installed both, with pulled in a basic kde3 install, found in /opt/kde3 (his downloaded files). Starting klamav straight afterwards created a new ~/.kde folder, partly filled with defaults.
    I came to this experiment because a friend over here had talked the same problem. When I met him he had done some reading and decided to uninstall clamav and ......klamav, but he mentioned the "old fashioned" interface of klamav. That got me thinking this way.

    Like said, you could have just commented, or keep out of the thread if you cannot stop yourself.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  9. #9

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    First, stop personal attacks and the like. We intend to keep the forums a friendly place, so keep it cool. Personal dislike of other forum users/visitors in the public area of the forum will not be tolerated. So stop it or start getting to know each other by PM.

    On the technical part of possible coexistence of KDE3 and 4 you're right. Very well possible.

    I did some sandboxing to find out what could have caused the OP's complaints. He mentions 'old kde3' directory, which used means either /opt/kde3 or ~/.kde, agreed?
    Then, if you search in Yast for 'clamav' it provides the clamav packages and klamav, which is described as a frontend for KDE. So I installed both, with pulled in a basic kde3 install, found in /opt/kde3 (his downloaded files). Starting klamav straight afterwards created a new ~/.kde folder, partly filled with defaults.
    I came to this experiment because a friend over here had talked the same problem. When I met him he had done some reading and decided to uninstall clamav and ......klamav, but he mentioned the "old fashioned" interface of klamav. That got me thinking this way.

    Like said, you could have just commented, or keep out of the thread if you cannot stop yourself.
    Hi and my thanks to all who have come to my aid.

    I have not sat idly by waiting for answers and have made some progress as follows:-
    First to address system history/background.

    I did a format and network install of openSUSE_11.3 retaining my home partition intact.
    I subsequently for other reasons erased /home and set up new user.

    I installed kde 4.5.2 from KDE factory repo.

    I have, since my initial posting, uninstalled all clamav stuff and reinstalled from download.opensuse.org/repositories/security.openSUSE_11.3 and also installed klamav.

    Perhaps .kde3 was a figment of my imagination as I acnnot see it now but I still have .kde as well as .kde4. Is that as it should be?

    My desktop is kde 4.5.2 and it seems to be OK although it takes some getting used to and I have a few issues still to sort out, but back to clamav:

    Using Klamav I can now start the program.

    First issue on starting is an error message:- "Malformed URL media:/"
    Not sure how to stop this message but I guess it might be because there is no disk in drive. Is that correct and how should I stop it?

    Next issue is that from Klamav Update tab I can get newest database but I also get a message that I should update clamav. When I try using the button "Upgrade ClamAV now" I get message "could not contact upgrade server" I tried turning off firewall but still no joy. The connection it was trying to make was ftp.heanet.ie on port 80. So is that as it should be? I do not recognise it.

    Last issue is trying to enable Auto-Scan. It appears I must load module dazuko and rebuild kernel. Now from what I can find out it appears dazuko is proprietary software. I have never read anything about this in all my investigation of clamav so far. I shall need help setting this up if indeed that is what people use.

    If anybody has time to help me from here it would be much appreciated.
    Thanks again, Budgie2

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Incredible:- Cannot Install & Run Clamav on openSUSE 11.3/kde4.5.2

    before i get to your posting, i want to return to the question
    previously asked but not answered: why do you want/need an anti-virus
    program on linux?

    i ask because it seem you are spending a lot of time on this, and i
    just wonder why....because if you are the 'typical' home user it is a
    waste of space and clock cycles..

    another way to say that is: so far you have not hinted that you are
    administering a mail server for hundreds of Windows users in a world
    headquarters and need to purge all malware from mail headed their way..

    in fact, as far as i can know from your post you are in the same
    situation i'm in (Linux only) and therefore this is a GIANT waste of
    time..

    now, i proceed to make some more wild guesses in an attempt to help:


    Budgie2 wrote:
    > First to address system history/background.
    >
    > I did a format and network install of openSUSE_11.3 retaining my home
    > partition intact.
    > I subsequently for other reasons erased /home and set up new user.
    >
    > I installed kde 4.5.2 from KDE factory repo.


    of course, you already know that all software in 'factory' is
    unreleased software, in a beta state, and may be of such low stability
    and quality on _your_ system as to cause far flung problems impossible
    to trouble shoot from here..

    and, of course you already know that folks who want a stable and
    trouble free *production system* (even if only to 'produce' a happy
    birthday letter to Aunt Tilly, or a doctoral thesis) won't go NEAR
    'factory' with ten foot FTP pole..

    and, anyway all Linux guru's who want to BETA TEST are sure welcome to
    do that but they should be both qualified to help track down bugs, and
    able to trouble shoot the more simple problems (like those below)
    which you still grapple with..

    and, btw: most Linux gurus who do BETA TEST do not do so on their
    daily *production system*, instead they do it in a 'sandbox'..

    but, you knew all of that so, sorry for the detour..

    > I have, since my initial posting, uninstalled all clamav stuff and
    > reinstalled from
    > download.opensuse.org/repositories/security.openSUSE_11.3 and also
    > installed klamav.


    i wonder why you installed from that repo and not from the standard repo?

    see, i ask because as far as i know all persons who install the latest
    _release_ (11.3) and use only the recommended four repos (oss,
    non-oss, update and packman, cite: http://tinyurl.com/33qc9vu)

    and, i wonder what would happen if you use YaST to uninstall that
    clamav and instead installed it from the oss repo??


    > Perhaps .kde3 was a figment of my imagination as I acnnot see it now
    > but I still have .kde as well as .kde4. Is that as it should be?
    >
    > My desktop is kde 4.5.2 and it seems to be OK although it takes some
    > getting used to and I have a few issues still to sort out, but back to
    > clamav:
    >
    > Using Klamav I can now start the program.


    ok, the klamav i _guess_ you got from the oss (version 0.46-7.2) which
    _may_ NOT be compatible with the newer clamav 0.96.2-29.1 installed,
    OR the 0.96.1-1.3 in the oss

    or, _maybe_ you installed klamav version 0.46-12.1 from the KDE:KDE3
    repo and it is easy to know that that won't work with your KDE4 system!

    the point of all of that is to say: it is best, to pick matching
    software (clamav and klamav, both from the oss) and get
    working...then, if you want to be adventuresome do some
    experimentation in your sandbox to see if a KDE3 klamav runs well with
    a KDE4 clamav running in a beta KDE4.5.2..

    and, if it does not then instead of asking help in getting it to run
    in the applications forum, you could could post the results of your
    sandbox experiments in the forum where the other beta testers hang out
    to see if they also find the same bugs you uncover, post to here:
    http://forums.opensuse.org/english/g...-release-beta/

    and, if you find a reproducible bug you should report it, here:
    http://en.opensuse.org/Submitting_Bug_Reports

    > First issue on starting is an error message:- "Malformed URL media:/"
    > Not sure how to stop this message but I guess it might be because there
    > is no disk in drive. Is that correct and how should I stop it?


    why don't i stop here and ask you to use YaST to uninstall the clamav
    and klamav you have and then install a matched set from the oss..

    to do that you will need to use YaST (or zypper) to remove the
    unnecessary repos which i believe are the source of your troubles..

    if you want assistance in that please enter the following into a
    terminal and then copy paste the results back to here:

    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    note: that is a lower case L, not a number 1 in "lr"


    now, my wild guess could be wrong, and you may want to wait for better
    direction from a real guru...your choice..

    and, as far as the problems you have updating from some unknown web
    site--for sure you need to wait for someone with real experience which
    clamav...i have none (don't need it, never will, yeah!)..

    --
    DenverD
    When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •