Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Minor issues..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    15

    Default Minor issues..






  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,050

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    On Mon, 18 Oct 2010 17:36:02 +0000, Angel840 wrote:

    > [image: http://i51.tinypic.com/3492zb4.gif]
    >
    > [image: http://i53.tinypic.com/10p6dzq.gif]
    >
    >


    Run the image in Test Drive and make the changes you want, "sync" the
    filesystem, and import the changed files back into the appliance.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    Quote Originally Posted by hendersj View Post
    On Mon, 18 Oct 2010 17:36:02 +0000, Angel840 wrote:

    > [image: http://i51.tinypic.com/3492zb4.gif]
    >
    > [image: http://i53.tinypic.com/10p6dzq.gif]
    >
    >


    Run the image in Test Drive and make the changes you want, "sync" the
    filesystem, and import the changed files back into the appliance.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at openSUSE Forums FAQ
    Whats the method to sync the file system and import?

  4. #4

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    Hello Angel840,

    Quote Originally Posted by Angel840
    Whats the method to sync the file system and import?
    When running the TestDrive apply the changes.
    At the top of the website you'll see three tabs: TestDrive XX:xx, Modified Files, Networking: Off.
    Select Modified Files.

    You'll see a new screen appear.
    Press "Refresh Changes" and you'll see a list appear.
    Select the files you want to keep.

    At the bottom of the page press "Add selected files to appliance".
    You can also bundle the files in an archive.

    When out of the TestDrive and back in to SuseStudio you can see the files in the "Files" tab.

    Good luck!
    Where did I put my coffee cup?
    dir -R /home/* | grep "coffee cup"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    Quote Originally Posted by Edward_Iii View Post
    Hello Angel840,


    When running the TestDrive apply the changes.
    At the top of the website you'll see three tabs: TestDrive XX:xx, Modified Files, Networking: Off.
    Select Modified Files.

    You'll see a new screen appear.
    Press "Refresh Changes" and you'll see a list appear.
    Select the files you want to keep.

    At the bottom of the page press "Add selected files to appliance".
    You can also bundle the files in an archive.

    When out of the TestDrive and back in to SuseStudio you can see the files in the "Files" tab.

    Good luck!


    "Sorry!
    Modified Files is not available for ISOs.
    Please Testdrive another build format to take advantage of this feature."

    How do I get passed that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    Never mind on that one *laughs and puts her hand over her face*.. But mainly one of my troubles is finding out how can I upload to the appliance? As in to say I'd like to upload maybe a new look for the appliance.. a new desktop picture? How would send files to it?

  7. #7

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    Hello Angel840,

    Quote Originally Posted by Angel840
    "Sorry!
    Modified Files is not available for ISOs.
    Please Testdrive another build format to take advantage of this feature."

    How do I get passed that?
    Simply build a "USB stick / hard disk image".
    When done run the testdrive and make use of the "Modified Files" feature.
    After that you can build any other image and the files will remain modified.

    Quote Originally Posted by Angel840
    Never mind on that one *laughs and puts her hand over her face*.. But mainly one of my troubles is finding out how can I upload to the appliance? As in to say I'd like to upload maybe a new look for the appliance.. a new desktop picture? How would send files to it?
    That's simple, when you selected your appliance select the tab Files.
    There you'll find the options "Upload file..." and "Add from the Web(URL)...".

    No matter which one you choose you can take either single files or archives.

    Good luck!
    Where did I put my coffee cup?
    dir -R /home/* | grep "coffee cup"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    I put in the sync command after I logged in as 'root' using 'su' and password.



    But afterwards I also went to the modified files tab and it seems to be taking more than quite a minuite to load up.. and I know it can't be my connection [T1] (Or can it?) after I hit 'refresh'.


  9. #9

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    Hello Angel840,

    Quote Originally Posted by Angel840
    But afterwards I also went to the modified files tab and it seems to be taking more than quite a minuite to load up.. and I know it can't be my connection [T1] (Or can it?) after I hit 'refresh'.
    Strange, normally I don't have to wait very long.
    But when I tried it today I encountered the same problem.
    Maybe it's a temporary problem?

    Quote Originally Posted by Edward_Iii
    That's simple, when you selected your appliance select the tab Files.
    There you'll find the options "Upload file..." and "Add from the Web(URL)...".

    No matter which one you choose you can take either single files or archives.
    Just to make sure: Did this work for you?

    Good luck!
    Where did I put my coffee cup?
    dir -R /home/* | grep "coffee cup"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    San Diego, California
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: Minor issues..

    Quote Originally Posted by Edward_Iii View Post
    Hello Angel840,


    Strange, normally I don't have to wait very long.
    But when I tried it today I encountered the same problem.
    Maybe it's a temporary problem?


    Just to make sure: Did this work for you?

    Good luck!
    Yeah the adding the file thing worked, now all I am trying to do is make sure it stays that way when I modify my appliance and go to testdrive it again.. Which in that case all I did was added a file to modify the desktop..

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •