Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    Ok, I am really new. But I see on forum posts, it appears people are able to switch from Gnome to KDE easily. How do you do that?

    AND, I understand 11.3 has a preview of Gnome 3.0. How do I get that up and running? Please assist. I would appreciate any insights. Thank you.
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  2. #2

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    While logging in, look out for "sessions" menu and select kde/gnome...If you are auto-logging in, log out and now find the "sessions"..
    Regarding the gnome 3.0, I haven't been using gnome much ..Someone will help you out here..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,648

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    Don't know about Gnome 3.0 preview. I suspect you need to get it from factory or some other repository.

    1) You need to set the to NOT to auto-login. In KDE, Personal Settings-Advanced-Login Manager
    2) Gnome must be installed. Yast-Software Management select patterns select the gnome patterns and install
    3) at the login screen you can select which Desktop to use and/or be the default. (Hint:look at bottom of screen)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    soldier101 and gogalthorp thank you for your help. I am running KDE right now, I like it!
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    Just install gnome-shell from the OSS repo in order for GNOME 3.0 Preview to show up in the list of available desktop environments at login.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    oysterboy, I saw Gnome 2.29, would that be it?
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    duh, never mind, that was not it...still cannot find it.
    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Posts
    103

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    Quote Originally Posted by newtosuse View Post
    duh, never mind, that was not it...still cannot find it.
    I don't know what you did exactly, but you just need to launch YaST - Install/Remove Software, search for the gnome-shell package, and install it. Then logout of your session and GNOME 3.0 Preview should be there.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Aveiro, Portugal
    Posts
    313

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    Open a terminal and type in: "zypper search gnome-shell" (without the quotes). You should see something like:



    magtheridon:~ # zypper se gnome-shell
    Loading repository data...
    Reading installed packages...

    S | Name | Summary | Type
    --+------------------+-----------------------------------+--------
    | gnome-shell | GNOME Shell | package
    | gnome-shell-lang | Languages for package gnome-shell | package




    If that is the case input the command (without quotes): "zypper install gnome-shell"; follow the on-screen instructions, and since you are a new, any doubts read the screen again.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Michigan USA
    Posts
    102

    Default Re: How do I get to Gnome 3.0

    Laptop: openSUSE 13.1 | Gnome 3.2.1 | i3 350m 2.27 GHz | HP Pavilion dv6 | 4GB RAM | Intel HD Integrated Graphics

    Installed openSUSE, never going back!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •