Thread: Suspend: Can I temporarily inhibit it?

Default Suspend: Can I temporarily inhibit it?

Hi, I am new to OpenSUSE but have been using Ubuntu for 3 years.

I have a computer setup as a jukebox and running KDE OpenSUSE 11.3 for music and multimedia.

The computer suspends and wakes up from suspend pretty well so I want to be able to let it do this naturally so I can generally have it on 24/7 (i.e. when it's not being used it will simply suspend until I wake it later), I do this already with my Ubuntu desktop - I rarely have to actually turn it off.

However, I would like to know if there is a simple method for temporarily inhibiting the suspend? Ubuntu has one as a power management inhibiting applet, it's just a one click toggle, and I find it quite handy.

The problem I have with the OpenSUSE jukebox is that if I have it sitting there playing music for longer than my power management settings it suspends from being idle (even though Amarok has been playing the whole time). In Ubuntu I just toggle the above applet when I know I'm not coming back to the PC for a while, and then toggle it back once I've finished - letting it go to sleep later on, works nicely.

Is there perhaps a similar widget for KDE, or other app/addition?

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Blog Entries

Default Re: Suspend: Can I temporarily inhibit it?

I don't know of one in KDE
    Gnome I think you mean: gnome-applets-inhibit-powersave
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Blog Entries

Ok, I found a solution so here it is for anyone in the same boat as me who would like to see what I found.

Once I got my wireless up and going (separate issue), I went and had a browse of the available widgets to download. As I was scrolling down I found one called "Suspend Applet". Simply put it displays a Plasma on your screen with 3 options, "Turn Display off", "Suspend", "Hibernate".