Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: YAST disappeared ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default YAST disappeared ?

    Hi all,

    I use openSUSE 11.1 since quite a bit and I frequently use YAST (not as root of course).
    However, since the problems I have to deal with while trying to install WiFi internet access I meet the following problem.

    I call YAST, get the small authentication screen, I give the right password, which seems to be recognized as such, but I never see YAST appearing. So I can't manage neither my hardware, nor my software.

    Anyone a clue ?

    Thank you very much,

    W

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    wba wrote:
    > Hi all,
    >
    > I use openSUSE 11.1 since quite a bit and I frequently use YAST (not as
    > root of course).
    > However, since the problems I have to deal with while trying to install
    > WiFi internet access I meet the following problem.
    >
    > I call YAST, get the small authentication screen, I give the right
    > password, which seems to be recognized as such, but I never see YAST
    > appearing. So I can't manage neither my hardware, nor my software.
    >
    > Anyone a clue ?
    >
    > Thank you very much,
    >
    > W
    >
    >

    what happens if you open a terminal/console/konsole (whatever _you_
    call it) and type/enter:

    Code:
    su -        <don't forget the dash, give root pass when asked, then:
    /sbin/yast2
    the familiar YaST2 Control Center window should open up....and, the
    terminal should STAY open and may or may not initially show an
    error...leave that terminal open while you do whatever
    hardware/software management you wanted to do, then close the YaST2
    Control Center window as you would normally do (on mine i click an x
    in the title bar) and then, look again at the terminal and see if
    there are _any_ messages there...if so, copy paste them to here...thanks..

    then, close the still open, root powered terminal..

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]
    When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Thank you, but what happens then ?

    I do not get the normal GUI-screen, but the type of blue screen where you have to navigate by means of the TAB-key, as in the good old DOS days, with e.g. Norton utilities.

    I'd like to have my GUI-screen back, though. It's muchier easier navigating.

    W

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    San Diego, Ca, USA
    Posts
    11,382
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    My experience may apply to you as well. When I first installed installed 11.3 I was perplexed by a very weird problem, when I logged as non-root and tried to do anything that required root privileges, ie. su, sudo, YAST, etc the root password wouldn't work. I would then logout and log back in as root (using the same password!), then reset the root password from the command line (again, the same password!), log back out and back in as the non-root User.

    Everything that required root privileges then worked for that session.

    This happened repeatedly but only intermittently or the first 4 days, then all of a sudden seemed to disappear and I haven't seen the problem since.

    Tony

  5. #5
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    On 2010-09-26 17:06, wba wrote:
    >
    > Thank you, but what happens then ?
    >
    > I do not get the normal GUI-screen, but the type of blue screen where
    > you have to navigate by means of the TAB-key, as in the good old DOS
    > days, with e.g. Norton utilities.


    "yast" is text mode, and "yast2" is graphical.

    However, if you broke something big in yast, perhaps you are getting the text mode yast as a last
    resource thing.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    wba wrote:
    > Thank you, but what happens then ?
    >
    > I do not get the normal GUI-screen,


    did you type "yast" or "yast2" as i wrote?

    > but the type of blue screen where
    > you have to navigate by means of the TAB-key, as in the good old DOS
    > days, with e.g. Norton utilities.


    follow instructions! i'm not asking you to change the way you work or
    go back to using "good old DOS days", instead i'm trying to learn if
    yast2 throws any errors into the terminal..

    *if* we can see some errors it _might_ be possible to fix your
    problem....maybe, otherwise . . .

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]
    When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,259

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Quote Originally Posted by wba View Post
    Thank you, but what happens then ?

    I do not get the normal GUI-screen, but the type of blue screen where you have to navigate by means of the TAB-key, as in the good old DOS days, with e.g. Norton utilities.

    I'd like to have my GUI-screen back, though. It's muchier easier navigating.

    W
    Are you sure you did what DenverD adviced: yast2? (the bold in the 2 is mine).
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Hello sir,

    No offence intended. Please do accept my apologies.
    It was the only way I could compare it to something I knew from the past.
    In the meantime, I can't get the GUI YAST as root neither, so it somehow disappeared ...
    Weird, very weird ...

    I'll verify if I typed YAST or YAST2.

    I have to switch continuously between Windows and openSUSE because in the latter I can't establish a WiFi internet connection.

    I'll come back to you in a jiffy.

    W

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,259

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    No need to apoligize, only to be very precise when it is about computers.

    And thus, when you type YAST and/or YAST2, that is again wrong. We did not use capitals and so should you do too.
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    I typed sudo /sbin/yast2

    I never use capitals linux (only if mandatory).

    So, I again typed /sbin/yast2 and arrived in text mode.

    Wim

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •