Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 31

Thread: YAST disappeared ?

  1. #21
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    On 2010-09-27 08:36, wba wrote:

    > 1. my working environment, alas, is Gnome, and I can't copy in terminal
    > mode with the mouse (or maybe I should do exactly as you say)


    Yes, you can.

    > 2. I have no middle button on the mouse (if I'll have to, I'll buy a
    > three button mouse)


    Do so. It is used a lot.

    Or just click both left and right at the exact same time. It is called middle button emulation.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Muchas gracias. Voy a probarlo.

    W

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Pakistan
    Posts
    201

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Sometimes I had the same problem (i.e. YaST not opening). I found that rebooting fixed the issue. If you are the type of person who keeps the PC running 24/7, then a reboot would be worth the try.
    "Darkness called But I was on the phone, so I missed him. I tried to *69 Darkness, but his machine picked up. I yelled "Pick up the phone, Darkness!," but he ignored me. Darkness must have been screening his calls."

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Good evening Henk,

    I followed your clear recommendations, so I typed :

    sudo -
    then I typed
    yast2, and my YAST-screen appeared. I wanted to use the network-manager, but I did not succeed.
    So I typed, in another (a second one) terminal window :
    sudo -
    and then :
    yast2 lan
    and I arrived in the network manager screen

    But now, how to make this a permanent change ? I mean, getting the GUI YAST-screen ?

    Dank je wel,

    W

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    wba wrote:
    > I followed your clear recommendations, so I typed :
    > sudo -
    > then I typed
    > -yast2-


    i just need to know which of the following is true:

    1. you can not read
    2. you teasing us

    i have to ask since NO ONE in this thread has ever asked you to type
    "sudo -" ever.

    --
    DenverD
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]
    When it comes to chocolate, resistance is futile.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    You are absolutely right.
    How stupid of me.

    Indeed, I typed su -

    and not
    sudo -

    Sorry, this is getting a bit much.
    I constantly have to reboot from openSUSE to Windows in order to be able to get on the internet, and then I forget what I typed. Moreover, I work from 0730 until 1730, which does not give much time to get a little bit rest.

    Sorry, sorry, sorry

    W

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,270

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Even when you reboot you can still use copy/past to put your terminal text in a file on your windows partition. And copy/past again from there.

    In any case, YaST is there. Now when you have a problem configuring your network, make a thread about that in the network (or when applicable, the wireless) subforum.
    There are other people for that and they look there.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    So I did, but it is a painful process, and I haven't got anything really helpful yet.

    OK, YaST is there, thanks to su - etc., but is there a way to get the GUI again ? Is this something that happens often ?

    W

  9. #29
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    On 2010-09-27 21:36, wba wrote:

    > OK, YaST is there, thanks to su - etc., but is there a way to get the
    > GUI again ? Is this something that happens often ?


    No, it isn't, or we'd say so, and perhaps we'd know a solution or the cause.

    What we know so far, after your testing, is that yast itself does not seem to be broken, it is
    something else. And we have given you a method that works, meanwhile.

    Now you should concentrate on solving your network problem (not here), because this problem has
    taken longer and more work than necessary because you gave us wrong info and/or used commands we did
    not told you to run.

    After you get networking solved, perhaps we can come back to this one with fewer communication
    problems ;-)

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" at Telcontar)

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: YAST disappeared ?

    Hello Carlos and Henk,

    You would not believe it, but I have my good old graphical GUI Yast back (without any intervention of my humble self).
    I'll have a beer now.

    W

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •