Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Replicate old desktop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,259

    Default Replicate old desktop

    I just re-installed 11.3 KDE. I kept my old /home directory on a USB drive. Now I would like to replicate my panels. Where are the desktop config files kept?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    I assume when you say you have your /home on a USB drive you mean it includes the hidden folders, because .kde4 is what you want
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,259

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I assume when you say you have your /home on a USB drive you mean it includes the hidden folders, because .kde4 is what you want
    Yes indeed, but I don't want to copy everything under .kde4 because there is a lot of "garbage" in there. Applications etc. that I never use.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    .kde4/share/config

    anything with plasma in it's name

    But I'd try the whole folder first. You need to do that from outside X

    Do you know how?
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,259

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    .kde4/share/config

    anything with plasma in it's name

    But I'd try the whole folder first. You need to do that from outside X

    Do you know how?
    From a level 3 boot, or from a live CD boot?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Console login, like this:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Ses...sole.login.png

    Once logged in as user
    (you will want to have imported the the .kde4 folder you plan to use having already renamed it .kde4-bak to your /home/user* account)
    Then do this

    Code:
    mv .kde4 .kde4-old
    then
    Code:
    mv .kde4-bak .kde4
    then startx
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Mexico and Sweden
    Posts
    1,259

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    I'm back in business, with some extra HD space.

    Many thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,721
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Replicate old desktop

    Quote Originally Posted by ionmich View Post
    I'm back in business, with some extra HD space.

    Many thanks.
    Excellent. Well done
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •