Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,918

    Default Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    Hi,

    I have had problems with this since upgrading from 11.2 to 11.3.

    In 11.3 with just the basic repositories (Non-OSS, OSS and Updates) once I pushed the full screen button on an embedded youtube video a different window opened and i had to tap ALT+TAB to see the video. After pushing ESC the windows disappeared and just the original firefox windows was shown, however at some times it would hang my X server.

    Now I'm using the following repositories (sorry for polish output of the command but I don't know how to change it to English)

    1 | KDE4.5 | KDE4.5 | Tak | Nie | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/KDE:/Release:/45/openSUSE_11.3 |
    2 | mozilla | openSUSE BuildService - Mozilla | Tak | Tak | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_11.3 |
    3 | packman | Packman Repository | Tak | Tak | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /suse/11.3/ |
    4 | repo-11.3-non-oss | openSUSE-11.3 Non-OSS | Tak | Nie | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.3/repo/non-oss |
    5 | repo-11.3-oss | openSUSE-11.3 OSS | Tak | Nie | 99 | yast2 | Index of /distribution/11.3/repo/oss |
    6 | repo-11.3-update | openSUSE-11.3 Updates | Tak | Tak | 99 | rpm-md | Index of /update/11.3

    And everything seemed to be working fine untill I upgraded python-qt4 package to version 4.7.3-3.7. Now sometimes immediately after pushing full screen button in an embedded youtube video the whole system hangs (I'm not able to switch to a different tty and reboot the X server from command line).

    Thanks for help in advance.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1

    Just to add a bit of verification, I've seen the same thing. I no longer
    full-screen Flash-based **** as a workaround, but sometimes it'd sure be
    nice to have. I haven't tried the Flash released by Adobe last week but
    that may be an option.



    On 09/20/2010 08:36 AM, glistwan wrote:
    >
    > Hi,
    >
    > I have had problems with this since upgrading from 11.2 to 11.3.
    >
    > In 11.3 with just the basic repositories (Non-OSS, OSS and Updates)
    > once I pushed the full screen button on an embedded youtube video a
    > different window opened and i had to tap ALT+TAB to see the video. After
    > pushing ESC the windows disappeared and just the original firefox
    > windows was shown, however at some times it would hang my X server.
    >
    > Now I'm using the following repositories (sorry for polish output of
    > the command but I don't know how to change it to English)
    >
    > 1 | KDE4.5 | KDE4.5 | Tak |
    > Nie | 99 | rpm-md | 'Index of
    > /repositories/KDE:/Release:/45/openSUSE_11.3'
    > (http://tinyurl.com/2whoy8q) |
    > 2 | mozilla | openSUSE BuildService - Mozilla | Tak |
    > Tak | 99 | rpm-md | 'Index of
    > /repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_11.3'
    > (http://download.opensuse.org/reposit...openSUSE_11.3/)
    > |
    > 3 | packman | Packman Repository | Tak |
    > Tak | 99 | rpm-md | 'Index of /suse/11.3/'
    > (http://packman.inode.at/suse/11.3/)
    > |
    > 4 | repo-11.3-non-oss | openSUSE-11.3 Non-OSS | Tak |
    > Nie | 99 | yast2 | 'Index of
    > /distribution/11.3/repo/non-oss'
    > (http://download.opensuse.org/distrib.../repo/non-oss/)
    > |
    > 5 | repo-11.3-oss | openSUSE-11.3 OSS | Tak |
    > Nie | 99 | yast2 | 'Index of /distribution/11.3/repo/oss'
    > (http://download.opensuse.org/distrib...11.3/repo/oss/)
    > |
    > 6 | repo-11.3-update | openSUSE-11.3 Updates | Tak |
    > Tak | 99 | rpm-md | 'Index of /update/11.3'
    > (http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.3/)
    >
    > And everything seemed to be working fine untill I upgraded one of the
    > KDE packages yesterday (something connected with python). Now sometimes
    > immediately after pushing full screen button in an embedded youtube
    > video the whole system hangs (I'm not able to switch to a different tty
    > and reboot the X server from command line).
    >
    > Thanks for help in advance.
    >
    >

    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v2.0.15 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://enigmail.mozdev.org/

    iQIcBAEBAgAGBQJMl3WOAAoJEF+XTK08PnB5HqwQAIt/08Q/BB7+Ba2PQqeXVspx
    tvBPQRichWJNAwNewyhSON/hlTCJcV9shiQ3HOH/tHun3jlM9Y1Y0WFp7WoKuIuR
    hyw97OhwmjxWzQla9PX2PF39ZMA6YAmyx5QabAbXXxGuC+uDI6c+TgqHJt79MkuB
    I/Z61NAKwnecSUvTiZV2OIjd0ciKX8MxKn8OOWgLzSJ+6YvV3r9cI4NhEruvfCGK
    uCCZwm/1YLCHfzh7m7jqE2A+GdwnbqkeBp8/L12KTYv0zxFl4XUw7R9/fpIK5ErR
    B/TsC501bn0whhFudS60uklNHo20dBh6ttpWU34uEwwEfA0m6uvGZ8+y8W4VUc5u
    NNfxmjOrR4e0oXqGf7p8jzwldLAkJ2My5uA1PSdeKawu8eg0EYYDz3lT+XJcBox/
    U1S9Q+Z4vw4B/haL89/alfpasEFWJ3aeYuZ62P4EcjinhN0uGwRnnQdZ3oguw5vH
    /EU2kBk1mUVaoMVORmJc68Ege6CTcyjRNLs4kqh4tN0v2Dsq3H6qrhLtr0bp/Tm8
    dCT+ngvwfI9vh99LM7qeysOlpfrncw0bq5tlOPEoadG5rnRFs0yBok7mHTGg5Zpr
    SIdmx3sQLFS8Tel8nbr1ZzPoMCsMxEUEjiso1TUcL3xIRNZ9mDJlFmHhmO+ehYOl
    OHpJmlm3nQzr9wrK9NwS
    =TwFK
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    I also have similar failure with Flash and full-screen but it doesn't always result in crash, with Firefox or SeaMonkey, and with streaming from BBC iPlayer website. These bugs have several reports on novell bugzilla. Mine is probably related to the "intel" driver one, as I have intel integrated grapnics GM45 chipset.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,918

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    I see. Thanks a lot for help guys. I have intel integrated graphics here as well so I guess I might be in the same situation as consused.
    The funny thing is that it seems to work better in opera

    Just to clarify I didn't say it always crashes anything but sometimes it happens and it doesn't matter as soon as I can use a different tty to kill X server, however a full system crash is quite annoying.

    To clarify furtherer I'm using openSUSE 11.3 32 bit version on Asus UL80a laptop and the sticker says it's got INTEL Int. GMA 4500MHD inside, whatever that means

    Oh and I always used the flash player from adobe, the latest version from the updates repo.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    Quote Originally Posted by glistwan View Post
    I see. Thanks a lot for help guys. I have intel integrated graphics here as well so I guess I might be in the same situation as consused...

    ...To clarify furtherer I'm using openSUSE 11.3 32 bit version on Asus UL80a laptop and the sticker says it's got INTEL Int. GMA 4500MHD inside...
    Yes, you appear to be in the same situation, the only obvious differences here being 64bit and Flash as provided by openSUSE repos. The GM45 chipset on my lenovo ThinkPad has the integrated GMA 4500MHD video adapter. I get the full-screen Flash issue with 11.3's (OOTB) "intel" driver. It's automatically configured and loaded by Xorg (verified in /var/log/Xorg.0.log). That driver was installed by the package xorg-x11-driver-video.

    There is a workaround available, and it checks out ok on my 11.3 test partition, giving full-screen with Flash and so far no hiccups. It uses another intel driver with a different loadmodule called "intellegacy", provided by the package xorg-x11-driver-video-intel-legacy. That was also installed with my 11.3 installation.

    First, make sure that package is installed on your system. To load "intellegacy" driver at startup, you should edit (as root e.g. using kdesu) the file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf to add this line:
    Code:
      Driver "intellegacy"
    For example:
    Code:
    Section "Device"
      Identifier "Default Device"
    
      #Driver "radeon"
    
      ## Required magic for radeon/radeonhd drivers; output name
      ## (here: "DVI-0") can be figured out via 'xrandr -q'
      #Option "monitor-DVI-0" "Default Monitor"
    
      Driver "intellegacy"
    
    EndSection
    Save, and restart/reboot to load the new driver.

    You can verify the change of driver to "intellegacy" in /var/log/Xorg.0.log .

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,918

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    Thanks a lot once more. I'll try this one as soon as I'll get home Doesn't this change performance or some power saving features ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    Quote Originally Posted by glistwan View Post
    Thanks a lot once more. I'll try this one as soon as I'll get home Doesn't this change performance or some power saving features ?
    You're welcome. Let us know how it goes.

    Good question re performance etc. DPMS and performance seems to work as expected. I was testing KDE 4.5.1 on this system, so that makes close comparison less reliable, but generally it feels more stable with "intellegacy". It isn't dependent on KMS, but don't know exactly why openSUSE forked the driver. Haven't noticed any adverse effects yet, although I did spot a couple of error messages towards the end of Xorg.0.log but not about graphics. I forgot to copy the old Xorg.0.log to compare, as it gets renewed on X startup. You should remember to do that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,918

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    It actually solved my problem as far as I can tell I've watched a lot of flash videos and resized them quite often without experiencing any unexpected behaviuor.

    Didn't save my old Xorg.0.log as well but isn't it posible to quickly switch back to intel driver and the log will look exactly like the old one ?

    Anyways thank you very much for help.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    5,500

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    Quote Originally Posted by glistwan View Post
    Didn't save my old Xorg.0.log as well but isn't it posible to quickly switch back to intel driver and the log will look exactly like the old one ?
    No matter, and it was only for you to compare for any issues. You can switch back by commenting out the additional line, saving, and restarting.

    Enjoy the full-screen playback, as I am now.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,918

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 Flash full screen

    Hi,

    Just wanted to report that it's working now properly with the intel driver.
    A lot of things have chaged on my system for example I've got the latest flash player, kde 4.5.3, and some kernel updates were done as well.
    So I really don't know what was the problem but I'm not experiencing it atm

    Best regards,
    Greg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •