Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Default versus Desktop

  1. #1

    Default Default versus Desktop

    What's the difference between Default and Desktop in the login screen?
    I used to always use 'desktop' but since I deleted kernel-pae (i have only 1gb ram) and then updated to the bunch of fixes. It will only load as 'default' it says pae is missing when I even try desktop. This is of course not a problem since both environments SEEM identicle to me. But what is the difference between the two?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Austin - Texas
    Posts
    10,140
    Blog Entries
    48

    Smile Re: Default versus Desktop

    In the following thread caf4926 posted a message on how to change the way Software Management works. After the change, when you go into Software Management and search on kernel, the Versions Tab will allow you to do a check block for all possible kernels you can load. This means you can load a new one while keeping the old one in place. I highly recommend you make this change before you do anything else.

    Keyboard & mouse freezes

    Now to answer you question, the desktop kernel is optimized for normal user operation, where the priority is given to the highest level application running and many other things for how a normal user runs openSUSE. The default version is optimized for server usage which may not be optimum for the desktop. When someone says they can not tell a difference, this means either you don't know what to look for OR your computer has enough memory and speed that there is no difference, to the normal user.

    What does that mean to you? If you make the change as suggested at the top of this message, you have the option to load more kernel versions and perhaps find a desktop one that will work. You also can leave well enough alone as you have had all of the kernel nonsense you can handle for one day. The choice is yours.

    Thank You,
    My Blog: https://forums.opensuse.org/blogs/jdmcdaniel3/

    Software efficiency halves every 18 months, thus compensating for Moore's Law

    Its James again from Austin, Texas

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    Desktop and PAE both support 3GB+ RAM on 32 bit OS's
    Default does not.

    Please open a terminal and copy and paste this code, and post results:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep kernel
    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    Code:
    jake@lolinternet:~> rpm -qa | grep kernel
    kernel-desktop-2.6.34.4-0.1.1.i586
    kernel-firmware-20100617-2.2.noarch
    kernel-default-2.6.34.4-0.1.1.i586
    
    
    jake@lolinternet:~> zypper lr -d
    #  | Alias                                 | Name                                  | Enabled | Refresh | Priority | Type     | URI                                                                                       | Service
    ---+---------------------------------------+---------------------------------------+---------+---------+----------+----------+-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+--------
    1  | PK_TMP_DIR                            | PK_TMP_DIR                            | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | plaindir | dir:///var/tmp/TmpDir.zVjc3E                                                              |        
    2  | Packman                               | Packman repository (openSUSE_11.3)    | Yes     | No      |   99     | rpm-md   | http://packman.inode.at/suse/11.3                                                         |        
    3  | Updates for openSUSE 11.3 11.3-1.82   | Updates for openSUSE 11.3 11.3-1.82   | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.3/                                                 |        
    4  | VLC                                   | VLC                                   | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.videolan.org/pub/vlc/SuSE/11.3                                            |        
    5  | devel:languages:python                | devel:languages:python                | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/devel:/languages:/python/openSUSE_11.3/         |        
    6  | devel:libraries:c_c++                 | devel:libraries:c_c++                 | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/devel:/libraries:/c_c++/openSUSE_11.3/          |        
    7  | filesystems                           | filesystems                           | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/filesystems/openSUSE_11.3/                      |        
    8  | games                                 | games                                 | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/games/openSUSE_11.3/                            |        
    9  | home:malcolmlewis:Miscellanous        | home:malcolmlewis:Miscellanous        | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:/malcolmlewis:/Miscellanous/openSUSE_11.3/ |        
    10 | http://packman.iu-bremen.de/suse/11.3 | http://packman.iu-bremen.de/suse/11.3 | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://packman.iu-bremen.de/suse/11.3                                                     |        
    11 | openSUSE-11.3 11.3-1.82               | openSUSE-11.3 11.3-1.82               | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | yast2    | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.3/repo/oss/                                  |        
    12 | openSUSE:11.3                         | openSUSE:11.3                         | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | yast2    | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.3/repo/oss/                                  |        
    13 | openSUSE:11.3:Update                  | openSUSE:11.3:Update                  | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/update/11.3/                                                 |        
    14 | openSUSE:Factory:Contrib              | openSUSE:Factory:Contrib              | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | rpm-md   | http://download.opensuse.org/repositories/openSUSE:/Factory:/Contrib/openSUSE_11.3/       |        
    15 | repo-debug                            | openSUSE-11.3-Debug                   | No      | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/debug/distribution/11.3/repo/oss/                            |        
    16 | repo-non-oss                          | openSUSE-11.3-Non-Oss                 | Yes     | Yes     |   99     | yast2    | http://download.opensuse.org/distribution/11.3/repo/non-oss/                              |        
    17 | repo-source                           | openSUSE-11.3-Source                  | No      | Yes     |   99     | NONE     | http://download.opensuse.org/source/distribution/11.3/repo/oss/                           |        
    jake@lolinternet:~>
    Was it a mistake to delete the 'kernel-pae' package? I mean I only have one gb ram.

    Oh and as for jdmcdaniel3's response, why is it necessary to have two different kernel modules? I mean if I disable server services such as database mail etc. in desktop environment, the changes won't take effect if I load the default-kernel?
    Sorry, I'm a former Ubuntu user and am not familiar with the concept of having multiple kernel environments. AFAIK Ubuntu only used one?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,863

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    No that is not a problem. But all those active Repos may be. Unless you know what you are doing I'd stay away from any with Factory in the name. That is experimental stuff. You also have two different Packman repos. In a word it is a mess. Hard to tell what kind of mishmash you have installed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    You can remove repos 1,2,4


    Then do this:
    ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing
    Just to make sure

    Back to the kernel thing. You should use kernel-desktop as it is likely best suited for you, not that default wont work, it will. And personally I would tend to recommend users only have the one or it leads to confusion. So long as you are booted to kernel-desktop, you can safely remove kernel-default.

    Just to be clear: Are you saying your machine has 1GB RAM installed?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    Yep I only have one gig of ram. I'd like to remove default, but unfortunately I don't think it will let me boot right now as desktop without kernel-pae, let's see if it works after I fix things up a bit...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    I don't think it will let me boot right now as desktop without kernel-pae
    To the initiated among us, this comment is puzzling.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    Well it seems to think it requires pae to run as desktop still. I think it may be fresh os install time. I kinda played around with the system and repositories when I first installed it because I wasn't quite sure how everything worked on this distro. Oh well I will refrain from silly or impulsive mistakes once reinstalled.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Default versus Desktop

    You may have to force the deletion - just cancel the error/warnings until you just have kernel-desktop and it's associated packages
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •