Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    I hope that someone can guide me with this problem I have. I'm trying to use as much as possible my OpenSuse(11.3) so at work I installed it on an older machine and trying to perform my duties using it. I encounter this issue:
    As I'm connecting to one of the servers were I need to install ADOBE LifeCycle the app needs an X11 DISPLAY variable so I used export DISPLAY=ip:0.0. The installer doesn't complain about the variable but however doesn't display anything and then errors out with some other error(need to investigate why is that).
    I think that is because the DISPLAY was never reached. Found few hints on what to do(it worked for OpenSUSE 9.x?) and I applied them as follows:
    in /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager
    (1) DISPLAYMANAGER_XSERVER_TCP_PORT_6000_OPEN="yes"
    (2) DISPLAYMANAGER_ROOT_LOGIN_REMOTE="yes"
    (3) DISPLAYMANAGER_REMOTE_ACCESS="yes"

    I also un-commented the two "x11" lines in /etc/services

    I also added the port 6000 in the TCP of the firewall. Anyone would have any ideea? I'm sure that this can be done in OpenSUSE, but settings are needed to be tweaked. I don't want to install this from Windows remotely.
    I'm monitoring /var/log/messages but no messages there. Any other places I could check?
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    dmera wrote:

    >
    > I hope that someone can guide me with this problem I have. I'm trying to
    > use as much as possible my OpenSuse(11.3) so at work I installed it on
    > an older machine and trying to perform my duties using it. I encounter
    > this issue:
    > As I'm connecting to one of the servers were I need to install ADOBE
    > LifeCycle the app needs an X11 DISPLAY variable so I used export
    > DISPLAY=ip:0.0. The installer doesn't complain about the variable but
    > however doesn't display anything and then errors out with some other
    > error(need to investigate why is that).
    > I think that is because the DISPLAY was never reached. Found few hints
    > on what to do(it worked for OpenSUSE 9.x?) and I applied them as
    > follows:
    > in /etc/sysconfig/displaymanager
    > (1) DISPLAYMANAGER_XSERVER_TCP_PORT_6000_OPEN="yes"
    > (2) DISPLAYMANAGER_ROOT_LOGIN_REMOTE="yes"
    > (3) DISPLAYMANAGER_REMOTE_ACCESS="yes"
    >
    > I also un-commented the two "x11" lines in /etc/services
    >
    > I also added the port 6000 in the TCP of the firewall. Anyone would
    > have any ideea? I'm sure that this can be done in OpenSUSE, but settings
    > are needed to be tweaked. I don't want to install this from Windows
    > remotely.
    > I'm monitoring /var/log/messages but no messages there. Any other
    > places I could check?
    > Thank you.=


    port 6000 X11 over the wire is VERY insecure. Might as well set the root
    password to "root".

    Use ssh -X and enable X11 Forwarding. This will work with PuTTY and with
    Windows based X Servers (e.g. Hummingbird) as well.



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    17,010

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    On Thu, 09 Sep 2010 18:36:01 +0000, dmera wrote:

    > I'm monitoring /var/log/messages but no messages there. Any other places
    > I could check?


    As Chris mentioned, remote X displays tend to be very insecure, but if
    this is the way you need to do this, have a look at the man page for the
    xhost command. In general, you need to grant permission (default is set
    to deny in recent releases), and that command is what you use to grant
    the permission for the display.

    Jim



    --
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator
    Forum Use Terms & Conditions at http://tinyurl.com/openSUSE-T-C

  4. #4

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    I going out on a limb but
    Code:
    DISPLAY=ip:0
    ##  or 
    DISPLAY=:0
    #
    EXPORT DISPLAY
    lifecycle &
    Any error messages in /var/log/warn ?
    Box 1: OpenSuse 11.1/Win7 | Linux 2.6.27 Gnome | AMD 64 X2 6000+ | nVidia 8600GT | 2GB RAM
    Box 2: OpenSuse 11.2 | Linux 2.6.31 Gnome | AMD 64 3000+ | ATI X800 Pro | 1GB RAM
    Box 3: Win7 Premium Home | Intel P4 3.0Gz | ATI AIW 2006 | 2GB RAM

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    thank you for reply guys but I think that I didn't explain properly.
    From OpenSuse I connect via ssh to a GNU/Linux server where I need to install Adobe.
    by running the instalation the Adobe needs a DISPLAY to show the messages.
    I tried to give on my local machine export DISPLAY=ip:0.0
    It doesn't show anything and errors out I think because cannot display but that's not confirmed. That's hapenning in a local network of the company I work for so I'm not too concerned about the port and the protocol for now. I know that in Windows with putty or hummingbird i can do it but i want to do it on my Suse machine.(which is at work). I will look at xhost help and in the warn file to see for any messages. Thanks for suggestions I will let you know the progress tomorrow.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    1,233

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    dmera wrote:

    >
    > thank you for reply guys but I think that I didn't explain properly.
    > From OpenSuse I connect via ssh to a GNU/Linux server where I need to
    > install Adobe.


    From your "OpenSuse" box:

    ssh -X gnu-linux-server

    $ echo $DISPLAY
    localhost:10.0

    Now that display will make it seem like there is a local Xserver managing
    something on gnu-linux-server, when actually that DISPLAY is connected via
    ssh tunnel back to the Xserver on OpenSuse.

    In order for this to work, the X11Forwarding option in sshd_config on the
    gnu-linux-server must be enabled.

    > by running the instalation the Adobe needs a DISPLAY to show the
    > messages.
    > I tried to give on my local machine export DISPLAY=ip:0.0


    Old school and insecure. Port 6000 handling by your OpenSuse box is
    disabled by default. It CAN be reenabled... but I hesitate to show you
    this... you know? I mean it's just not the right thing to do anymore.

    BUT... with that said, every situation is different, but I REALLY don't want
    to do it especially since you're using ssh.

    > It doesn't show anything and errors out I think because cannot display
    > but that's not confirmed. That's hapenning in a local network of the
    > company I work for so I'm not too concerned about the port and the
    > protocol for now. I know that in Windows with putty or hummingbird i can
    > do it but i want to do it on my Suse machine.(which is at work). I will
    > look at xhost help and in the warn file to see for any messages. Thanks
    > for suggestions I will let you know the progress tomorrow.
    >
    >


    No... the xhost thing WILL not work... again port 6000 handling is NOT on by
    default. Tunnel via ssh like I have shown above. That's the "good" answer.


  7. #7

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    Quote Originally Posted by dmera View Post
    thank you for reply guys but I think that I didn't explain properly.
    From OpenSuse I connect via ssh to a GNU/Linux server where I need to install Adobe.
    by running the instalation the Adobe needs a DISPLAY to show the messages.
    I tried to give on my local machine export DISPLAY=ip:0.0
    It doesn't show anything and errors out I think because cannot display but that's not confirmed. That's hapenning in a local network of the company I work for so I'm not too concerned about the port and the protocol for now. I know that in Windows with putty or hummingbird i can do it but i want to do it on my Suse machine.(which is at work). I will look at xhost help and in the warn file to see for any messages. Thanks for suggestions I will let you know the progress tomorrow.
    This doesn't explain any better than your original post.

    Server is running what?
    You have openSuse at home, and you're trying to open a display 0, window 0 to install an Adobe application over ssh?
    Have you tried another display window DISPLAY=:4 for example?

    There's an excellent thread in Chit Chat started by Oldcpu
    Planning for OS update to my 84-year old mothers PC about remote support, using remolte access software.

    When configured correctly I'm sure either of the 2 packages discussed would solve your immediate problem and if commercially licensed with long term remote access.
    Box 1: OpenSuse 11.1/Win7 | Linux 2.6.27 Gnome | AMD 64 X2 6000+ | nVidia 8600GT | 2GB RAM
    Box 2: OpenSuse 11.2 | Linux 2.6.31 Gnome | AMD 64 3000+ | ATI X800 Pro | 1GB RAM
    Box 3: Win7 Premium Home | Intel P4 3.0Gz | ATI AIW 2006 | 2GB RAM

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Toronto,Canada
    Posts
    549

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    Let me try one more time tararpharazon. Server is running GNU/Linux, client is OpenSuSE11.3. They are both physically in the same network. didn't try another display as it seems that the error is because on the server side there are some requirements not installed(Xorg-x11-apps). as soon as it is installed I will try again with different DISPLAY. It is over ssh and I will follow cjcox instructions.
    The thing is that I don't have admin rights on the server, just a user which connects to an application account with more rights based on the group permissions.
    How can I verify that the X11Forwarding option in sshd_config on the
    gnu-linux-server is enabled? only an admin can do that?

    Just as a note from home to work and viceversa I used NX Client/Server connections which does what i need but on those machines I'm the admin.

  9. #9

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    Got it this time but it sounds above my pay grade right now. Keep us posted when X11 is installed.
    Box 1: OpenSuse 11.1/Win7 | Linux 2.6.27 Gnome | AMD 64 X2 6000+ | nVidia 8600GT | 2GB RAM
    Box 2: OpenSuse 11.2 | Linux 2.6.31 Gnome | AMD 64 3000+ | ATI X800 Pro | 1GB RAM
    Box 3: Win7 Premium Home | Intel P4 3.0Gz | ATI AIW 2006 | 2GB RAM

  10. #10
    JosephKK NNTP User

    Default Re: export DISPLAY from a GNU/Linux to OpenSuse

    On Fri, 10 Sep 2010 16:36:02 GMT, dmera
    <dmera@no-mx.forums.opensuse.org> wrote:

    >
    >Let me try one more time tararpharazon. Server is running GNU/Linux,
    >client is OpenSuSE11.3. They are both physically in the same network.
    >didn't try another display as it seems that the error is because on the
    >server side there are some requirements not installed(Xorg-x11-apps). as
    >soon as it is installed I will try again with different DISPLAY. It is
    >over ssh and I will follow cjcox instructions.
    >The thing is that I don't have admin rights on the server, just a user
    >which connects to an application account with more rights based on the
    >group permissions.
    >How can I verify that the X11Forwarding option in sshd_config on the
    >gnu-linux-server is enabled? only an admin can do that?
    >
    >Just as a note from home to work and viceversa I used NX Client/Server
    >connections which does what i need but on those machines I'm the admin.


    If i remember my X display addresses correctly, i think it is

    ++++++
    DIsPLAY=0:0
    ======

    Which should translate to local:main display


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •