Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: glitchy display in firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default glitchy display in firefox

    Hi everyone,

    I recently upgraded from a working 11.2 to 11.3, using x86_64 for both, and it worked fine for the most part except my firefox is unbearably glitchy. What happens is that part of the display in the web viewer (though it has happened in the search bar as well) will go black, and it will stay black until there is a redraw event, i.e. until I scroll the window a bit or move the window around. I can't take a screenshot of it, it always looks fine (but I promise I'm not going crazy!).

    Anyway, I have often had a minor struggle with my ati 2400 pro, it is currently working fine, I just checked the 3d acceleration and it is definitely rocking. But basically what I did (though there have been more steps now but these are the ones I think worked) is I installed the ATI driver with the one-click install, and then I ran "aticonfig --initial" as root from the command line. I'm not so sure whether that helps or not.

    The problem persists when firefox is run in KDE, and I think I may have seen screen glitches here and there, just not to such a usability breaking degree.

    Unfortunately I've been really busy lately, and I am going to a movie tomorrow after work, so I am having a hard time getting enough time in front of this to try to fix it, but I would definitely appreciate any help I can get. Let me know if you need to know more info about my system, I will certainly respond as soon as I can.

    Thanks,
    Malcolm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Oh wait I don't know if this is significant but to get the black to refresh I have to scroll it out view--i.e. the black will scroll up and down as if it was the image until it goes out of view. I guess I mean I don't know how that is significant--it seems to put the bug somewhere in how the images are being stored by either the video card or X windows, right? I guess I have no idea what could cause that either.

    Thanks again, I think I'm going to go watch some tv and then catch some sleep, enough aggravation for one night.
    Malcolm

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Couple of things.
    Is this with effects on or off or have you tried both?

    You pick out KDE in a comment. Does that mean you normally use Gnome?
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Couple of things.
    Is this with effects on or off or have you tried both?
    I believe I have tried it with the effects on with no change. My effects are generally off though, not in front of my screen now so I can't double check that they don't work with them on. Will try that later.

    You pick out KDE in a comment. Does that mean you normally use Gnome?
    Yes I do, I meant to mention that.

    Thanks,
    Malcolm

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Some settings to check in KDE System Settings:
    In the Default Applications > Window Manager: Make sure it's set to kde's kwin window manager and not compiz
    Desktop Effects should be OFF
    Logout and back in after making the changes (if any)

    It can, believe it or not make a difference which login manager settings you have: If you installed gnome you will likely have that. A KDE login screen looks like this:
    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/10573557/Ses...ssion.type.png

    To adjust this you have to go to Yast > System > etc Sysconfig editor > Desktop >
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Ok great, I will give that a try when I get home. I do have a different login screen, haven't tried changing that (I just used the other one to log into a KDE session.)

    Thanks,
    Malcolm

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    My settings match that in the gnome screen shots. I do not have effects enabled. Should I try to switch login managers or was that just a misconception on my part?

    Thanks,
    Malcolm

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    It was not a misconception. If you plan to use KDE, I would do that. Or at least just to try it. (reboot required)

    Can you post a screen of Firefox open, any page will do.
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    I will try, I don't plan on using KDE, though I don't care what login manager I use.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •