Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: glitchy display in firefox

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    I don't plan on using KDE,
    Then stick with the gnome one you have.

    Post a screen of FFox in kde though
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    I can't post a shot of firefox that shows the problem using the printscreen utility. I could take a picture with my camera, but I don't have that set up to work quite yet.

    Malcolm

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    I don't need to see the problem, just FFox
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    ok, hope it helps.

    http://www.filedropper.com/screenshot-3_3

    malcolm

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Is that in gnome though?
    I thought the problem was in KDE
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    No the problem is everywhere. I don't need kde I just tried it in kde to see if it worked.

    malcolm

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    I'm sorry if I seem rude, I'm a bit tipsy I've just come from the bar. I'm going to go to bed the whole thing has me baffled.

    malcolm.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,719
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Then I can only put this down to a graphics issue.

    What come from:


    su terminal:
    Code:
    hwinfo --gfxcard
    Code:
    /usr/sbin/hwinfo --gfxcard | grep Driver
    Leap 15_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    The command you gave piped to grep returns:

    Code:
     Driver: "fglrx_pci"
      Driver Modules: "fglrx"
      Driver Info #0:
      Driver Info #1:
    3d acceleration definitely is on,
    Code:
    glxinfo | grep direct
    returns
    Code:
    direct rendering: Yes
    and
    Code:
    glxgears
    gives me
    Code:
    18271 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3654.030 FPS
    18337 frames in 5.0 seconds = 3667.261 FPS
    But believe it or not chrome seems to be working fine! Of course I would still like to get this fixed but with this realization the priority for me is a quite a bit less.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Albany, NY USA
    Posts
    118

    Default Re: glitchy display in firefox

    Ok it's fixed. It was the problem that was outlined here: fglrx 10.6 black boxes, using the solution that unfortunately did not work for the op there.

    Thanks for all the help!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •