Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rebuilding update database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    125

    Default Rebuilding update database

    Can someone remind me how to rebuild the system update database?

    Thanks.

    Paul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Rebuilding update database

    Use zypper.

    Code:
    zypper clean -a -r <repo-alias>
    zypper refresh
    <repo-alias> is the alias of the repo you want to rebuild.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Phuket, Thailand
    Posts
    26,567
    Blog Entries
    38

    Default Re: Rebuilding update database

    Quote Originally Posted by prhunt View Post
    Can someone remind me how to rebuild the system update database?
    To rebuild the rpm database (with root permissions in a terminal):
    Code:
    rpm -vv --rebuilddb
    I always recommend users read this first: Repair an RPM database safely

    Having typed that, I don't know if that is what you meant by 'system update database'.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Rebuilding update database

    Quote Originally Posted by oldcpu View Post
    Having typed that, I don't know if that is what you meant by 'system update database'.
    Sorry, I sometimes err on the side of brevity.

    I am getting some dependency (vendor) errors with online updates, and I want to see if a database rebuild will help.

    Paul

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Rebuilding update database

    "Vendor errors" aren't usually a problem. Are there any particular packages showing this? How about showing the output of

    zypper lr -d

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    125

    Default Re: Rebuilding update database

    Well, after a zypper clean of the update repo, and a yast online update, the errors seem to have resolved.

    The vendor error (relating to k3b) was not a problem per se, but it was an inconvenience, causing the online update applet to abort.

    Anyway, it seems to be fixed and I should just stick with Yast online update as I have in the past.

    Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •