Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

  1. #1

    Question 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    Hey, all.

    I just upgraded from 11.2 to 11.3 (mainly because something happened in 11.2 and the bootup thereafter ended with me at the command line, which I couldn't fix. Since going to 11.3 full install (an upgrade didn't work), I'm back to the desktop, now. However, I've a concern with what otherwise looks like an improved, somewhat speedier OS and more solid KDE 4.4:

    The installation (from a full DVD version, downloaded) advised that either 64-bit OS or 32-bit version would be installed automatically based on the installer's probe of my CPU. Well, my system carries a 64-bit AMD Athlon X2 4850e dual core processor. Yet, if I'm reading OpenSUSE's system info correctly, I was given the 32-bit OS. Here's the data from My Computer:

    OS: Linux 2.6.34-12-desktop i686
    ...
    System: openSUSE 11.3 (i586)
    KDE: 4.4.4 (KDE 4.4.4) "release 2"

    Am I right that this is the 32-bit version? It still seems snappier than the 11.2 install, which indeed ran on this same machine only with a 32-bit CPU. When I did a complete install of 11.3 to the old hard drives, it discovered my old Linux partitions and surprisingly did not destroy my personal data or settings. Also, I'm running OpenSUSE on the same PC with Windows Vista, via a Grub loader. Perhaps that's an issue, too.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    If you do an upgrade, the installer will not change the architecture. To change the architecture you have to do a fresh install.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,816

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    Many problems with an upgrade or a new install are due to video card/drivers. You may have only needed to reinstall the drivers you had for 11.2 to get into the GUI

  4. #4
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    On 2010-08-28 17:36, ken yap wrote:
    >
    > If you do an upgrade, the installer will not change the architecture. To
    > change the architecture you have to do a fresh install.


    No, that is not so. You can upgrade changing the architecture at the same time - although it is not
    a supported procedure, some people have done so and reported success.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" GM (Elessar))

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    Since going to 11.3 full install (an upgrade didn't work), I'm back to the desktop, now.
    Am I right that this is the 32-bit version? It still seems snappier than the 11.2 install, which indeed ran on this same machine only with a 32-bit CPU. When I did a complete install of 11.3 to the old hard drives, it discovered my old Linux partitions and surprisingly did not destroy my personal data or settings. Also, I'm running OpenSUSE on the same PC with Windows Vista, via a Grub loader. Perhaps that's an issue, too.
    A 32 bit OS can run perfectly well on x86-64 bit hardware, one of the few drawbacks for a normal home desktop is that a 32bit OS can not access as much RAM as the 64bit version.

    It appearers that you are happy with it, if so I would not change it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    Also, I'm running OpenSUSE on the same PC with Windows Vista, via a Grub loader. Perhaps that's an issue, too.
    If you can boot to either OS, no issue there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlos E. R. View Post
    On 2010-08-28 17:36, ken yap wrote:
    >
    > If you do an upgrade, the installer will not change the architecture. To
    > change the architecture you have to do a fresh install.


    No, that is not so. You can upgrade changing the architecture at the same time - although it is not
    a supported procedure, some people have done so and reported success.
    Anything is possible if you are willing to hack it enough, but whether it's wise is another question. That's the level at which I targetted the answer.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    dvhenry wrote:

    >
    > A 32 bit OS can run perfectly well on x86-64 bit hardware, one of the
    > few drawbacks for a normal home desktop is that a 32bit OS can not
    > access as much RAM as the 64bit version.
    >

    Most newer 32 bit systems are compatible with pae (36 bit adresses) and I
    know not many home users running 32 bit machines with more than 64 GB RAM.
    ;-)

    >
    > It appearers that you are happy with it, if so I would not change it.


    I second that, do not fix something that works good.

    --
    openSUSE 11.2 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | Gnome 2.28 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    openSUSE 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Duo T9300@2.50GHz | Gnome 2.30 | Quadro
    FX 3600M | 4GB Ram


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,391

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    Most newer 32 bit systems are compatible with pae (36 bit adresses) and I
    know not many home users running 32 bit machines with more than 64 GB RAM.
    ;-)
    Well, I was actually thinking more along the lines of the conventional 4GB limit, if for example I had 8GB of RAM, I would be inclined to go 64 bit rather than 32 bit pae.
    But that is just my choice. And in the OPs case he seems happy with the performance he is getting.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,654

    Default Re: 64-bit vs 32-bit install

    dvhenry wrote:

    >
    > Well, I was actually thinking more along the lines of the conventional
    > 4GB limit, if for example I had 8GB of RAM, I would be inclined to go 64
    > bit rather than 32 bit pae.
    > But that is just my choice. And in the OPs case he seems happy with the
    > performance he is getting.
    >

    My comment was not meant as a general advice to prefer 32 bit pae (you see I
    run 64 bit though I have only 4GB of RAM), why - simply because I have 64
    bit cpu's and there is a 64 bit linux available :-)
    I do not really think that for normal usage as a desktop one of us mere
    mortals will even notice a difference in using the 32 or 64 bit versions (I
    cannot prove that, it is just an opinion).

    --
    openSUSE 11.2 64 bit | Intel Core2 Quad Q8300@2.50GHz | Gnome 2.28 | GeForce
    9600 GT | 4GB Ram
    openSUSE 11.3 64 bit | Intel Core2 Duo T9300@2.50GHz | Gnome 2.30 | Quadro
    FX 3600M | 4GB Ram


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •