Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Aus
    Posts
    29

    Default SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    Hello,

    New SUSE 11.3 install connects to network/internet etc OK with DHCP-assigned IP address. When I switch to static IP, I can no longer ping internal network, or anything else. This works OK with SUSE 11.2 on same hardware and (as far as I can see) same setup.

    Some diagnostics are shown below.

    Hope you can help.
    Fmc

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Firewall
    Disabling the firewall makes no difference.

    Not using a network manager (can't see how to assign fixed address if I do - all greyed out).

    ifup eth0:
    eth0 device: Intel Corporation 82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 02)
    SuSEfirewall2: Warning: no default firewall zone defined, assuming 'ext'
    (not sure why the warning - eth0 is assigned to external in the firewall setup).

    ifconfig -a
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:98:90:58
    inet addr:172.16.1.54 Bcast:172.16.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::a00:27ff:fe98:9058/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:846 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1249 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:642497 (627.4 Kb) TX bytes:167298 (163.3 Kb)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:508 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:508 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:54253 (52.9 Kb) TX bytes:54253 (52.9 Kb)

    dhcpcd-test eth0
    info, eth0: hardware address = 08:00:27:98:90:58
    info, eth0: broadcasting for a lease
    debug, eth0: sending DHCP_DISCOVER with xid 0x3fd1ef7e
    debug, eth0: waiting for 10 seconds
    debug, eth0: got a packet with xid 0x3fd1ef7e
    info, eth0: offered 10.0.2.15 from 10.0.2.2
    DHCPSIADDR='10.0.2.4'
    IPADDR='10.0.2.15'
    NETMASK='255.255.255.0'
    NETWORK='10.0.2.0'
    BROADCAST='10.0.2.255'
    ROUTES=''
    GATEWAYS='10.0.2.2'
    DNSDOMAIN=' '
    DNSSERVERS='172.16.1.254'
    DHCPSID='10.0.2.2'
    LEASETIME='86400'
    RENEWALTIME='0'
    REBINDTIME='0'
    INTERFACE='eth0'
    CLASSID='dhcpcd 3.2.3'
    CLIENTID='01:08:00:27:98:90:58'
    DHCPCHADDR='08:00:27:98:90:58'
    info, eth0: exiting
    I have no idea where the 10.xxx addresses are coming from. There are none of these in the YAST network settings screens. The default IPv4 gateway is 172.16.1.254 for eth0 in the routing screen, but this doesn't seem to be reflected in this test. This is a key difference with the same test for the 11.2 install - 11.2 returns a consistent default gateway.

    ping 10.0.2.2
    Destination host unreachable

    ping 172.16.1.254
    Destination host unreachable

    route -n
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
    172.16.1.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
    127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
    0.0.0.0 172.16.1.254 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0

    This is the same as the 11.2 output

    grep 172.16.1.254 /etc/resolv.conf
    nameserver 172.16.1.254

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    Your external network (e.g. router etc) seems to be on the subnet 10.0.2.x, but the fixed IP you've given the interface is 172.16.1.54 which cannot talk with the subnet that's operating outside the Suse box. So try giving the interface a fixed address like 10.0.2.2. Or is there something I missed about your network?
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Aus
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    Hi,

    Thansk for your reponse.

    The router reports it is on Subnet 172.16.1.0 (under DHCP server configuration). There are several other machines on 172.16.1.xx static IP addresses and they work fine. I am stumped as to where the 10.0.2.xx stuff is coming from. DHCP addresses are supplied in the range 172.16.1.100 and above. I'm trying to assign a static address below that range.

    HTH
    FMc

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    Sure is a puzzle. Please describe the way the internet gets to your network and then to your computer.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Aus
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    Internet comes in via ADSL 2+ on a Telstra line, thence to a Billion BiPAC 7402NX modem/router.

    The Billion is running a DHCP server in the range 172.16.1.100 to 172.16.1.200. The router address is set to 172.16.1.254 internally - this is used as the DNS and gateway addresses in the SuSE settings. The router is set to use the local host address as DNS Server and default gateway. Unknown clients are allowed.

    Network is a wired (CAT5) ethernet.

    The "machine" I'm running is a Virtual machine running on VirtualBox on a Windows XP host. The network device is presented to the virtual machine as a "82540EM Gigabit Ethernet Controller". The hardware NIC on the Windows Host is reprted as a Realtek RTL8168/8111 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller.

    (While it is possible that the problem is something to do with running a virtual machine, I have a 11.2 virtual machine on the same host which works OK with a static IP. Also the 11.3 machine networking works OK as long as the IP address is assigned by DHCP.)

    It feels as if there is somewhere in the SuSE 11.3 settings that I should be replacing these seemingly default 10.0.2.x addresses, but I can't think where that would be.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    I have a virtual machine that I use to run xp within openSUSE, which is the reverse of your setup. I have a subnet that links the VM to the host on a private link that is isolated from the external networking. It uses 10.0.y.x by default. Could your virtual-nonvirtual networking be causing the problem I wonder? I think (but not certain) that you need to enable bridged networking between the VM and the host if you want them all to be on the same subnet.
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Aus
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    Thanks I'll follow that up. It sounds feasible, because the VM network set-ups do look different between the two VM's (the 11.2 one that works and the 11.3 one that doesn't).

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Aus
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    Confirming that you are indeed correct Swerdna. When I changed the VM network setting from "NAT" to "Bridged Adaptor" the static IP worked. Thanks for your patience, politeness and expertise.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Oz
    Posts
    11,727
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    It's a pleasure to assist you. BTW, what VM software are you using?
    Leap 42.3 & 15.1(Beta) &KDE
    FYIs from the days of yore

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Aus
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: SUSE 11.3 no network access with static IP

    VirtualBox 3.2.8. I also use it to run Windows XP on a SuSE Linux host, and seems to work well.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •