Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: openSUSE, multimedia(aka restricted formats), zypper, one-click, reop#17410, nightmare

Default openSUSE, multimedia(aka restricted formats), zypper, one-click, reop#17410, nightmare

Hello All,

I've been using /suse/i since the year 2000. I think 7.3 was my first SuSE install.

I recently installed FC13 ... and wow ... everything that is important to me was working correctly in less than 2 hours ... an experience I have NOT had with a /suse/i release in quite a few years now .....

Take a look at the many support threads from the 11.0 release forward about problems/confusion around getting restricted formats working. (And I DO remember that once upon a time ... a super simple restricted formats install guide ... "add packman repo and have fun!")

1. There seems to be a serious bug with zypper/packag-kit/yast/???/integration-of-these that causes zypper to disrespect the priority settings for repositories in yast. I have encountered numerous examples personally. The ONLY reason I have not created a bug report is that I still don't really understand the problem ... I can only point to symptoms. And I have even seen this weird behaviour referred to as a "feature" .... I don't know what the issue is ... but I think IT MUST BE FIXED

2. One-click .... causes far more problems than it solves ... get rid of it ... NOW. This is the ultimate emulation of Microsoft quality product development; create tools that appear to be EASY, but are ultimately more difficult to use than not to use. Frankly ... it causes me a little anger ....

3. I really want to create 8 new repos in OBS ... not that I have a real reason ... just don't think we have enough to choose from .... Actually, OBS is great; much more successful than I would have expected it to be ... but having soooooo many repos to choose from certainly poses many opportunities to get confused. This really is not a complaint ... just a statement ...

... and don't forget to have fun!