Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    US
    Posts
    867

    Default Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    In my update tray applet I often get a notification saying an update for my system is available and when I click for details the only patch listed is dummy Patch.

    Anyone know what or why this is? It's happening on my 11.1 and 11.2 machines.
    IBM Thinkpad X60s | Intel L2400 | Intel 945GM | 3GB | openSUSE Tumbleweed
    Dell XPS 13 9360 | openSUSE Leap 42.3

  2. #2

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    I don't know what it is, but I get the same thing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,699

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    What repositories are you on?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    I haven't used the update applet in a long time but when that used to happen to me I would just right click the updater and tell it to check for updates and the dummy patch would disappear.

    Never did find out why it happens.
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  5. #5

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    Yes, sometimes when other updates popup the dummy patch goes away. It comes back again later once the updates are installed though.

    My repositories:

    Libdvdcss repository
    NVIDIA Repository
    Community
    VirtualBox
    Mozilla
    Main Repository (Contrib)
    VLC
    Packman
    KDE Factory
    OpenSUSE Main, Update, Non-OSS, Debug, OSS and Source

    None that are out of the ordinary I assume?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    metro-welfare, MI США
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    I've had the 'dummy patch', 'applet state' before and have it again..
    I clicked on the 'item' not the check box.
    I have notification turned off in the applet, so I get the box at the top center of my scree instead of the applets drop down..
    Well, when I click on the item, I get app error, but there is a 'hyper link' <more..>.
    When I click on 'more' the progress windowlet opens and the available patches cache starts to refresh and the 'dummy patch' is gone, without having installed it..

    Don't have any answers why, but this has worked for me a couple of times now and it just worked again.

    p.s., During the presents of the 'dummy patch' my 'updater applet' icon is a light blue square with a white down arrow.. Only when the patch is there... 2 or three times now (over the past few years), not sure if it's always been the same workstation (I have 5 openSuSE ws' in my house of different states of update from 10.x (Thinkpad) to 11.2 ws)...

    One more thing I've noticed is that the 'Available updates' window no longer has any patches 'checked'...
    I guess it no longer compares what is available with what is installed..
    I've just been using the YaST2 'software manager' for all my updates.. Applet doesn't seem to do anything except check for updates and annoy me.

    Landis Reed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Fictionland
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    All my repositories had the required signature, so I did install the dummy patch and it did of course vanish. I belief it is a way to register "dummy entries" in the check database to avoid that updater asks all the time for things he shouldn't.
    Updater seems to have quite a lot of issues. In the moment he keeps nagging me about the package KDE K3b 2.0 as "suggested" update. Which is dead wrong because I have already 2.0 pm installed, with vendor change. This is a regression that comes up since quite a few versions now. I have the feeling that the dummy patches have the function of tackling these issues, but I am not sure at 100%.
    .......... Maybe dummy patches are infiltrated suggestions of extraterrestrial invaders.....and we know how this is going to end.........WE ARE ALL TAKEN!!!!

  8. #8
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    On 2010-07-31 01:36, landis wrote:
    >
    > I've had the 'dummy patch', 'applet state' before and have it again..
    > I clicked on the 'item' not the check box.


    That could be the factory branch test update. Check your list of repos.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" GM (Elessar))

  9. #9
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    On 2010-07-31 14:36, stakanov wrote:

    > Updater seems to have quite a lot of issues. In the moment he keeps
    > nagging me about the package KDE K3b 2.0 as "suggested" update. Which is
    > dead wrong because I have already 2.0 pm installed, with vendor change.


    This has been reported, and has an answer in the mail list from someone "in the know".

    There is a conflict because both pm and update repo have the exact same version-release number for
    k3b. The suggested solution is for pm to increase their release number a notch.

    The updater applet is not exactly the same as the updater itself, so it may notify things that later
    do not show. I only use it as a notifier, not as updater. I update via YOU only.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" GM (Elessar))

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in Fictionland
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: Dummy Patch in update tray applet

    Gracias Carlos / Thanks a lot.
    Nice to know it (mailing list I think refers to the packman one. Verdad?)

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •