Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: A few problems

  1. #1

    Question A few problems

    Hi there, I have now installed and reinstalled OpenSuse 11.3 a couple of times and are on it again, I seem to run into all sorts of problems when I want to customize 11.3.

    First of all it seems that the xterm is locked somehow so you can't even run gedit, now someone in another forum suggested running xhost +locahost which unlocked it for gedit but not other commands - why is it locked in the first place? And how to permanently unlock it?

    Second: make is not installed from start. I find this very strange, did the developer forget this one?

    What I like to do is to install gnomenu 2.8 but it will not work after install because something is missing. Ok, many will say that it is working fine on their system, but take in mind that its 11.3 we are talking about here.

    One thing I like to say in the favour of the developer, my ATI Radeon 9100(not IGP but remake of 8500) works out-of-the-box all you have to do is to enable desktop settings.

    I also like to get all the menu's in danish language, now that takes a while, why is it when you install and choose danish from the menu, that its still english when its finished installing - very strange. After its finished installing you have to add main menu language for it to show danish in yast and controlcenter, but the main menu is still english untill you remove it from panel and chose another main menu.

    The python installed don't have Python-gconf, that's a problem when a program you like to install, needs this.

    I have tried alot of troubleshooting in this and still end up with having to re-install

    To people who don't care for eyecandy, and can use OpenSuse as it is, I will tell that 3D works just fine on Radeon 9100(8500(R200 QM)) compared to other distros like Ubuntu, PC Linux, PCOS, Mandriva, Debian - there it sucks, because you have to install the driver manual and then it might work, most of the time not.

    So back to my questions:

    How to unlock terminal totally, so i can use it as in any other distro?

    How to get gnomenu installed without running into problems after install?

    Are there any other way to edit the feel and look of the main menu?

    And please people When you answer don't refer to other pages, where you think the anser is but have not completely read what is said, not all cases are the same you know

    I'm a newbie in Linux, but I'm learning slow by slow. I have been supporting pc's with windows for 22 years, but in this i start from scratch. The idea is to switch to Linux totally when the time is right.

    Thanx in advance

    JBJ

  2. #2
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: A few problems

    On 2010-07-28 19:36, insomniacno1 wrote:
    >
    > Hi there, I have now installed and reinstalled OpenSuse 11.3 a couple of
    > times and are on it again, I seem to run into all sorts of problems when
    > I want to customize 11.3.
    >
    > First of all it seems that the xterm is locked somehow so you can't
    > even run gedit, now someone in another forum suggested running xhost
    > +locahost which unlocked it for gedit but not other commands - why is it
    > locked in the first place? And how to permanently unlock it?


    What error are you getting?

    > Second: make is not installed from start. I find this very strange, did
    > the developer forget this one?


    It never is, unless you choose one of the development patterns.


    > I also like to get all the menu's in danish language, now that takes a
    > while, why is it when you install and choose danish from the menu, that
    > its still english when its finished installing - very strange.


    Not all languages are included in the DVD, and even less in the CD. The system probably requires you
    install some extra packages, and then log in again.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" GM (Elessar))

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: A few problems

    I do not quite understand what you mean by xterm being "locked".

    The python installed don't have Python-gconf, that's a problem when a program you like to install, needs this.
    Is python-gconf a certain package? Dependencies needed by applications to be installed will be checked and fetched automatically anyway.

  4. #4

    Default Re: A few problems

    [QUOTE=Carlos E. R.;2197816]On 2010-07-28 19:36, insomniacno1 wrote:
    >
    > Hi there, I have now installed and reinstalled OpenSuse 11.3 a couple of
    > times and are on it again, I seem to run into all sorts of problems when
    > I want to customize 11.3.
    >
    > First of all it seems that the xterm is locked somehow so you can't
    > even run gedit, now someone in another forum suggested running xhost
    > +locahost which unlocked it for gedit but not other commands - why is it
    > locked in the first place? And how to permanently unlock it?


    What error are you getting?

    Well to start with the famous display error (Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display) when trying to run gedit. Normal commands gets the "it must be a typo" message. Well if you use the 11.3 and try using xterm or gnome term in a normal way then you will see - there is something really strange here. Try downloading the liveCD and burn it to a DVD-RW so you don't waste a CD, then run it and try to use one of the terminals in a normal way - then you will see what I mean.

    Not even Nautilus will run, and not even with sudo nautilus - I get the display error. It doesn't even know the ./configure command.
    on some commands I get this error "Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 keycannot open display:"

    The above also happens as root.

  5. #5

    Default Re: A few problems

    Quote Originally Posted by gropiuskalle View Post
    I do not quite understand what you mean by xterm being "locked".



    Is python-gconf a certain package? Dependencies needed by applications to be installed will be checked and fetched automatically anyway.
    Python-gconf is a dependency to gnomenu and should be installed before trying to install gnomenu, so I looked for it in software management but its not there. Apparently others in older versions have got it to work, so there python-gconf must have existed. When trying to install gnomenu(having meet all the dependencies except python-gconf) I get an error that python-gconf is missing. So I downloaded the 11.2 and installed it and gues what, it had python-gconf in software management, just not available in 11.3(did someone forget to add it?). 11.2 has a probleme with my ATI card so its not an option to run it instead, 11.3 installs all HW just fine.

    Regarding the language, yeah you need to find all the languages in software management after you have installed 11.3 - this is strange because when you install you are asked to chose the language to use - I choose danish and that I'm located in Europe/Denmark - on other distros you would after install have danish menus but not on 11.3. Also you still need the remove the Main menu and add it again before it will show danish language in the menu - I would call that a bug.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: A few problems

    insomniacno1 wrote:
    > How to unlock terminal totally, so i can use it as in any other
    > distro?


    first: -=welcome=- first time poster--you are gonna love it here!!

    second: you are FAR better off breaking your several questions apart
    and asking each of them in a one-question-per-post fashion with a
    descriptive subject....because these fora are visited by many folks
    who look at the subject to see see if it is something they maybe can,
    or want to answer..

    third: always include the exact error reported if at all possible (it
    cuts down on guessing)

    so, i see in your third post:

    (Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display) when trying to run gedit [SNIP]
    The above also happens as root.
    and wonder how many times you have logged into Gnome as root...which
    is something i know is done all the time (as Administrator) in your
    other system but should NEVER be done in any *nix-like OS..

    some of your problems are directly linked to doing that *or* perhaps
    you have a bad install disk...we run into that a LOT, and it should be
    your next step to make sure you are not installing from a bad disk,
    over and over and over---it will never get right because "Garbage in,
    garbage out" remains true....

    did you:
    1. get your install image from http://software.opensuse.org/113/en ?
    (if not, then where?)
    2. check the md5sum of the downloaded iso?
    3. do this http://tinyurl.com/yajm2aq before install attempt?

    if you answered "no" (or "don't know") to any of those then do step 3
    now, and if it has errors see the following cites before you start over:
    http://en.opensuse.org/Download_Help
    http://tinyurl.com/yhf65pv
    http://tinyurl.com/ycly3eg

    when you are certain you have a good install disk return here and say
    so and we can go from there...

    in the meantime, once you have a good disk, and a good install the do
    NOT log into Gnome as root and you may just avoid all (or some of)
    those other problems too...return and ask why i'll explain...nah, i do
    it now:

    you should never log into KDE/Gnome/XFCE or any other *nix-like
    graphical user interface desktop environment as root..

    doing so 1) opens you up to several different security problems, 2)
    too many too easy ways to damage your system no matter how careful
    your actions (example: just browsing in your home directory while
    logged into KDE/Gnome/etc as root can lock you out later as yourself
    due to permissions damage), 3) and, anyway logging into KDE/etc as
    root is *never* required to do any and all administrative duties..

    so, always log in as yourself, and "become root" by using a root
    powered application (like YaST, File Manager Superuser Mode) or using
    "su -", sudo, kdesu, or gnomesu in a terminal to launch whatever tool
    is needed (like Kwrite to edit a config file)...read more on all that
    here:

    http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Login_as_root
    http://docs.kde.org/stable/en/kdebas...uide/root.html
    http://tinyurl.com/ydbwssh
    http://tinyurl.com/6ry6yd

    in one of those you will probably learn the need to forget what you
    learned about sudo in *buntu, for example, to launch gedit from a
    terminal/console with root powers, you just need to (while logged into
    Gnome as yourself) type:

    gnomesu gedit

    and give the root password when asked..

    --
    DenverD (jeg bor i danmark men er ikke s gode til dansk)
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD [posted via NNTP w/openSUSE 10.3]

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: A few problems

    @DenverD: A faulty .iso will most likely result in a system not being able to be installed at all. And running an editor as root is perfectly normal and does not mean one starts an entire session as root. While I agree that both (bad .iso and logging into a GUI-session as root) can and does cause problems, I do not think monocausal speculation will help much here. As for now, it is offtopic.

  8. #8
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: A few problems

    On 2010-07-29 04:06, insomniacno1 wrote:
    >
    > Carlos E. R.;2197816 Wrote:


    >> What error are you getting?
    >>

    > Well to start with the famous display error (Gtk-WARNING **: cannot
    > open display) when trying to run gedit. Normal commands gets the "it
    > must be a typo" message. Well if you use the 11.3 and try using xterm or
    > gnome term in a normal way then you will see - there is something really
    > strange here.


    I just tried. I have a test partition in my laptop with 11.3, with gnome. I opened an xterm, and
    fired "gedit pepe" from it. The I did "su -", and tried again "gedit pepe &". Then I returned to
    normal user, and did "su", and then "gedit pepe &". All three attempts were successful.

    Right now I'm doing a YOU session, and will try again afterwards.

    [...]

    No problems detected I can not reproduce your issue.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" GM (Elessar))

  9. #9

    Default Re: A few problems

    Quote Originally Posted by Carlos E. R. View Post
    On 2010-07-29 04:06, insomniacno1 wrote:
    >
    > Carlos E. R.;2197816 Wrote:


    >> What error are you getting?
    >>

    > Well to start with the famous display error (Gtk-WARNING **: cannot
    > open display) when trying to run gedit. Normal commands gets the "it
    > must be a typo" message. Well if you use the 11.3 and try using xterm or
    > gnome term in a normal way then you will see - there is something really
    > strange here.


    I just tried. I have a test partition in my laptop with 11.3, with gnome. I opened an xterm, and
    fired "gedit pepe" from it. The I did "su -", and tried again "gedit pepe &". Then I returned to
    normal user, and did "su", and then "gedit pepe &". All three attempts were successful.

    Right now I'm doing a YOU session, and will try again afterwards.

    [...]

    No problems detected I can not reproduce your issue.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" GM (Elessar))
    Hello Carlos, thank you, but I have to ask if that install is a clean new install or one you have been testing things on before? Remember I'm a newbie in this, so things that find natural to do with you OpenSuse after install - that I have not learned yet - so if your install is not a fresh one then it cannot be compared and you will most likely not get the error.

    To the others who replied: I don't log in as root, I do su and sudo or sudo su.

    Regarding bad media, Previous I got the ISO from Opensuse haomepage. I'm now on OpenSuse LXDE(I found the menu less irritating - no need for gnomenu now), and have the same issues here. It bottles down to when giving simple commands that should just work in a terminal - they don't and you get an error. By this I mean, I read a forum thread explaining how to solve a probleme and I try it on my pc, but keep running into errors - and I do excactly what it says in the thread.

    This thread has a guy with similar problem, though the solution did not work permanently for me - and its a permanent solution I'm looking for:

    sudo gedit X not working

    Suse is not my first install, I have tried Puppy, most Ubuntu variations, PCOS, PCLinux OS, Mandriva, Debian, Feodora and many more - it was first when I got to OpenSuse that I ran into these command line problems. So it must be something specific in this distro, either something that all of you do as a normal thing after install - that I don't know about - or a bug in 11.3(since its also a problem in LXDE).

    After I install, I customize the look and feel of "my distro" and enable the driver for my ATI Radeon 9100 + enable Compiz (if not allready). Then I install the language.

    Then install all the programs needed including make and extra's.

    Then I start to play with it, and now I run into the above problems.

    I'm not writting this on the linux pc, but give me some commands to try out and I will when on the Linux pc try it and type the error here.

    New probleme on OpenSuse LXDE 11.3: compiz - I have to enable desktop effects after every reboot(the settings are saved). I have noticed on the net that many has this problem, and not only in LXDE, and I have tried many suggested solutions but none seem to take. I tried installing Compiz-settings-manager and set things there but after reboot I have to enable it again, and then it works fine untill next reboot.

    I hope this clarified some of my problems

    JBJ

  10. #10
    Carlos E. R. NNTP User

    Default Re: A few problems

    On 2010-08-02 13:36, insomniacno1 wrote:

    > Hello Carlos, thank you, but I have to ask if that install is a clean
    > new install or one you have been testing things on before? Remember I'm
    > a newbie in this, so things that find natural to do with you OpenSuse
    > after install - that I have not learned yet - so if your install is not
    > a fresh one then it cannot be compared and you will most likely not get
    > the error.


    It is a fresh one as RC1. I assure you that is not related, this has worked from day one. I have to
    do nothing to get it working.

    I suggest you create a new user, and try with that one. Don't use "su", use always "su -", with a dash.

    --
    Cheers / Saludos,

    Carlos E. R.
    (from 11.2 x86_64 "Emerald" GM (Elessar))

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •