Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    You mean this:
    Code:
    <policyconfig>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed">
        <description>Mount file systems from internal drives.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents mounting internal media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable">
        <description>Mount file systems from removable drives.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents mounting removable media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.unmount-others">
        <description>Unmount file systems mounted by other users.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents unmounting media mounted by other users</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.eject">
        <description>Eject removable media.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents ejecting removable media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.crypto-setup-fixed">
        <description>Set up decryption for encrypted fixed storage devices.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents accessing encrypted fixed media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.crypto-setup-removable">
        <description>Set up decryption for encrypted removable storage devices.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents accessing encrypted removable media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
    </policyconfig>
    I have entries to fstab because all my partitions were added there automatically during install or in some cases I manually set a mount point.
    I have for example this entry:
    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6Y160P0_Y454TYNE-part1 /Maxtor              ntfs-3g    defaults 0 0
    This was added by the system during install, but I edited the part: /Maxtor defaults 0 0
    But it does not auto mount, you have to actually click on it in Dolphin for it to mount. I know that for sure, because I have Virtual Box HD's on there and can't use them until I open it up in Dolphin.

    If you don't have an entry for a disc in fstab, I'm not sure about that... All my partitions always have an entry. Unless, I guess, if you create them later on? Let me work on my sandbox and see what I can come up with.
    ==================================================================

    OK
    Further to the above.
    New install 11.3 gnome - with a internal partition not in /etc/fstab = All works fine. Password requested for mounting (ext4).. blah..blah

    New Install 11.3 kde4 - with the same internal partition not in /etc/fstab = Try to open in dolphin and I get the error you all report.

    I will look in to this and get back. Sorry for the misunderstanding. And thanks for bringing this important issue to our attention.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    If you are interested. I grabbed this from an Ub* install, just by way of comparison. But my knowledge on this subject is next to Zero and I do wonder why a global policy would be involved in the issue that seems desktop based.
    In SUSE:Gnome works
    Kde does not
    Code:
    <defaults>
          <allow_any>no</allow_any>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep</allow_active>
        </defaults>
    However it uses udisks not hal
    From; /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.udisks.policy

    More checking taking place....
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    This came from PCLinuxOS which uses hal and dolphin works there for me

    Code:
    <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed">
        <description>Mount file systems from internal drives.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents mounting internal media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    You mean this:

    I have entries to fstab because all my partitions were added there automatically during install or in some cases I manually set a mount point.
    I have for example this entry:
    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6Y160P0_Y454TYNE-part1 /Maxtor              ntfs-3g    defaults 0 0
    This was added by the system during install, but I edited the part: /Maxtor defaults 0 0
    But it does not auto mount, you have to actually click on it in Dolphin for it to mount. I know that for sure, because I have Virtual Box HD's on there and can't use them until I open it up in Dolphin.

    If you don't have an entry for a disc in fstab, I'm not sure about that... All my partitions always have an entry. Unless, I guess, if you create them later on? Let me work on my sandbox and see what I can come up with.
    Thank you caf4926. I like the way you're thinking, and added lines to my fstab for the three partitions I would like to be able to dolphin-mount.

    However, when I used:
    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31000333AS_6TE0D582-part1 /fullbackup          ext3       defaults            0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6L300S0_L62CV33G-part1 /games               ext3       defaults            0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3500320AS_5QM2DKK3-part6 /music               ext3       defaults            0 0
    for the three partitions, it appears they were auto-mounted when I rebooted and do not show up in the dolphin "places" menu.?.?

    I instead changed them to:
    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31000333AS_6TE0D582-part1 /fullbackup          ext3       noauto,acl            0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6L300S0_L62CV33G-part1 /games               ext3       noauto,acl            0 0
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3500320AS_5QM2DKK3-part6 /music               ext3       noauto,acl            0 0
    and thought that it worked (they showed up the the dolphin "places" menu again and were not mounted at boot), but now when I click on them in dolphin I get this error:
    Code:
    An error occurred while accessing 'Backup', the system responded: mount: only root can mount /dev/sdd1 on /fullbackup
    It seems like this is part of the same problem as before, which is that Dolphin doesn't properly prompt for a password when trying to mount.

    Any ideas?

    EDIT: Sorry caf, I posted this response prior to seeing your last couple. I'll try that and see if it works...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    I think it should be:

    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31000333AS_6TE0D582-part1 /fullbackup          ext3       defaults            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6L300S0_L62CV33G-part1 /games               ext3       defaults            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3500320AS_5QM2DKK3-part6 /music               ext3       defaults            1 2
    You may have to chown the mount directory. Or use super user dolphin to alter it
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I think it should be:

    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31000333AS_6TE0D582-part1 /fullbackup          ext3       defaults            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6L300S0_L62CV33G-part1 /games               ext3       defaults            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3500320AS_5QM2DKK3-part6 /music               ext3       defaults            1 2
    You may have to chown the mount directory. Or use super user dolphin to alter it
    Thank you, but making the modification above appears to mount these partitions at boot.
    I tried modifying the owner on the mount directories, and still got the same error I listed above.

    Thanks again.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Sorry - yes, I did mean

    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31000333AS_6TE0D582-part1 /fullbackup          ext3       noauto,acl            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6L300S0_L62CV33G-part1 /games               ext3       noauto,acl            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3500320AS_5QM2DKK3-part6 /music               ext3       noauto,acl            1 2
    Try going to the folder /games & /music & /fullbackup

    and right click on each and
    ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Sorry - yes, I did mean

    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST31000333AS_6TE0D582-part1 /fullbackup          ext3       noauto,acl            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6L300S0_L62CV33G-part1 /games               ext3       noauto,acl            1 2
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-ST3500320AS_5QM2DKK3-part6 /music               ext3       noauto,acl            1 2
    Try going to the folder /games & /music & /fullbackup

    and right click on each and
    ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing
    I modified per your suggestion above, and they now do not mount at boot. However, when trying to mount in Dolphin I still get the:
    Code:
    An error occurred while accessing 'Backup', the system responded: mount: only root can mount /dev/sdd1 on /fullbackup
    error. I've checked the mount folders and I own all of them and should have full read-write access. I think this is still related to the policykit issue. Are you able to mount them through Dolphin when your fstab is setup this way?

    Thanks again for all your help. I know this is more of an annoyance than a deal-killer since these partitions can still be mounted by "normal" means, but it can be very annoying when a functionality goes away that you've grown accustomed to. I appreciate your time and suggestions.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    No - I just tried editing my fstab.
    Same error as you
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    No - I just tried editing my fstab.
    Same error as you
    Bummer. I found an open bugzilla report:

    https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=615730

    so hopefully it is being worked on.

    Thanks again.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •