Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    I have two systems, one running 11.2 x64, and the other running 11.3 x64. on both systems, I've lost the ability to mount internal partitions "on-the-fly" from the Dolphin panel. When I try, I get the following error that shows up at the bottom of the Dolphin window:

    Code:
    An error occurred while accessing 'Backup', the system responded: org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.PermissionDeniedByPolicy:
    org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed auth_admin_keep_always <--(action, result)
    The problem is identical to what is listed in this bug report, but it is marked as resolved.

    Trying to mount via Dolphin has always given me this error on the 11.3 system, but only recently started happening in the 11.2 system after a recent "zypper dup" (using the "Stable" KDE 4.4 repo).

    Any suggestions would be appreciated. If others are experiencing this same issue, please let me know so I can file a bug report. Please note that the error only occurs for internal partitions, and external drives work fine.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    As mentioned in the bug report I tried:

    /usr/share/PolicyKit/policy/org.freedesktop.hal.storage.policy
    for fixed-storage
    allow_active --> yes
    It works perfectly, only dolphin is not asking for a password. I hope someone else has the final solution, otherwise it is indeed a bug returning...

  3. #3

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Hello queequeg,

    Quote Originally Posted by A_Tweaker
    As mentioned in the bug report I tried:
    /usr/share/PolicyKit/policy/org.freedesktop.hal.storage.policy
    for fixed-storage
    allow_active --> yes
    It works perfectly, only dolphin is not asking for a password. I hope someone else has the final solution, otherwise it is indeed a bug returning...
    You could also change it into "auth_admin_keep_always" instead of "yes".
    In this case dolphin will ask for your root password.

    Good luck!
    Where did I put my coffee cup?
    dir -R /home/* | grep "coffee cup"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by Edward_Iii View Post
    Hello queequeg,


    You could also change it into "auth_admin_keep_always" instead of "yes".
    In this case dolphin will ask for your root password.

    Good luck!
    This is how it is currently...
    It does not ask for my password, and instead gives me the error above.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by A_Tweaker View Post
    As mentioned in the bug report I tried:


    It works perfectly, only dolphin is not asking for a password. I hope someone else has the final solution, otherwise it is indeed a bug returning...
    Thank you, but it didn't seem to work for me. Could you please confirm I did it correctly? I opened the file and changed this:

    Code:
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed">
        <description>Mount file systems from internal drives.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents mounting internal media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    to this:

    Code:
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed">
        <description>Mount file systems from internal drives.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents mounting internal media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    Does that look correct? Do I need to reboot?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Hello queequeg,

    Quote Originally Posted by queequeg
    Hello queequeg,

    You could also change it into "auth_admin_keep_always" instead of "yes".
    In this case dolphin will ask for your root password.
    Good luck!
    This is how it is currently...
    It does not ask for my password, and instead gives me the error above.
    When taking a closer look at the bug report I discovered you're right.
    Dolphin doesn't support root authentication.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bug 533246
    Well, missing/incomplete integration with policykit.
    Bug 179678 - Dolphin needs PolicyKit-kde integration
    ...
    Quote Originally Posted by queequeg
    Does that look correct? Do I need to reboot?
    It looks ok and AFAIK you need to reboot.

    Good luck!
    Where did I put my coffee cup?
    dir -R /home/* | grep "coffee cup"

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    As I have already commented in the other thread.
    I have no issue with this in 11.2 or 11.3
    And the absence of any physical evidence here to support your issue is confusing.

    Other than my installation partitions I have other ext4 and ntfs partitions - all work perfectly.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by Edward_Iii View Post
    Hello queequeg,


    When taking a closer look at the bug report I discovered you're right.
    Dolphin doesn't support root authentication.



    It looks ok and AFAIK you need to reboot.

    Good luck!
    Thanks for the link. I'm glad that it's an open bug that's being worked on.

    Unfortunately, the modification I made per my post above did not work. Curiously, I get the same error message. (Even after rebooting). I don't know how this is possible, but I've verified that the file is indeed modified. Is there something I'm missing that you can think of?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sunny Arizona
    Posts
    251

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    As I have already commented in the other thread.
    I have no issue with this in 11.2 or 11.3
    And the absence of any physical evidence here to support your issue is confusing.

    Other than my installation partitions I have other ext4 and ntfs partitions - all work perfectly.
    In the other thread it sounded like all your internal partitions were mounted at boot (via fstab entries). If so, this bug does not pertain to you.

    If not, and if you are able to mount them "on-the-fly" using Dolphin, could you please post your org.freedesktop.hal.storage-policy file here to see if there is something different?

    Also, what do you mean by "physical evidence"? I would be happy to post any information you request. If you'd like a screenshot of the error, I would be happy to oblige.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Unable to mount internal partitions with Dolphin

    You mean this:
    Code:
    <policyconfig>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-fixed">
        <description>Mount file systems from internal drives.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents mounting internal media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.mount-removable">
        <description>Mount file systems from removable drives.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents mounting removable media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.unmount-others">
        <description>Unmount file systems mounted by other users.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents unmounting media mounted by other users</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.eject">
        <description>Eject removable media.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents ejecting removable media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.crypto-setup-fixed">
        <description>Set up decryption for encrypted fixed storage devices.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents accessing encrypted fixed media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>auth_admin_keep_always</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
      <action id="org.freedesktop.hal.storage.crypto-setup-removable">
        <description>Set up decryption for encrypted removable storage devices.</description>
        <message>System policy prevents accessing encrypted removable media</message>
        <defaults>
          <allow_inactive>no</allow_inactive>
          <allow_active>yes</allow_active>
        </defaults>
      </action>
    
    </policyconfig>
    I have entries to fstab because all my partitions were added there automatically during install or in some cases I manually set a mount point.
    I have for example this entry:
    Code:
    /dev/disk/by-id/ata-Maxtor_6Y160P0_Y454TYNE-part1 /Maxtor              ntfs-3g    defaults 0 0
    This was added by the system during install, but I edited the part: /Maxtor defaults 0 0
    But it does not auto mount, you have to actually click on it in Dolphin for it to mount. I know that for sure, because I have Virtual Box HD's on there and can't use them until I open it up in Dolphin.

    If you don't have an entry for a disc in fstab, I'm not sure about that... All my partitions always have an entry. Unless, I guess, if you create them later on? Let me work on my sandbox and see what I can come up with.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •