Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

  1. #1

    Default Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Hello!

    I read a few threads about updating packages in opensuse 11.3, and about switching to a repository, but I still don't understand a few things.

    On earlier versions of opensuse I was used to set the repository priorities in an order that was convenient for me, and when I did an update, the vendor changed if needed.

    Now, vendor change is not allowed by default, and I don't understand the right way to handle repositories, and updates. I found out that in Software Managment there is an option to allow vendor change, but I'm not sure that's the right way.

    Can someone explain these things for me?

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,871

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    The idea is apparently that one does not choose a particulr vendor for a package for nothing. Thus even if there is a newer version in another repo, it is not "installed changing the vendor" when you update.

    You can either change per package by slecting the package in the list (eventualy after searching for it) and choosing the Version tab below where you can click on one of the versions available (and I assume it will then come with an offer to change the vendor of the dependancies), or change massive by using the Repositories from the View menu/tab. and then click the "change .... to this ..." in the small field upper right. This is only available in KDE or when using the KDE version of YaST (unprecise expression from me here). There are many posts here whee caf shows how to do this.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Leave the priority all at 99.
    Use the Switcher for the repos Eg: ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing

    Check this:
    Multi-media and Restricted Format Installation Guide
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  4. #4

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    So, if I switch to Mozilla repository for example, and then update all packages, the vendor for these packages (from mozilla repo) will always be mozilla repo, even if there is a newer version in the official update repo?

    So, there is no need to allow vendor change at all?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Quote Originally Posted by YevgenyEfter View Post
    So, if I switch to Mozilla repository for example, and then update all packages, the vendor for these packages (from mozilla repo) will always be mozilla repo, even if there is a newer version in the official update repo?

    So, there is no need to allow vendor change at all?
    Yes, but if you use the switcher on another repo, Eg Packman and as Packman has some of the files that Mozilla does it can cause issues, so you need to remember to switch mozilla again after you do it on Packman.
    Although in the main Packman packages should have priority
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,871

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Quote Originally Posted by YevgenyEfter View Post
    So, if I switch to Mozilla repository for example, and then update all packages, the vendor for these packages (from mozilla repo) will always be mozilla repo, even if there is a newer version in the official update repo?
    Yes, you got it.
    Quote Originally Posted by YevgenyEfter View Post
    So, there is no need to allow vendor change at all?
    This why Yast/zypper do not do it, you are at the reins.

    BTW thanks to caf4926 for showing again his famous picture. Just a small hint from me and here he is: to the rescue!
    Henk van Velden

  7. #7

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Yes, but if you use the switcher on another repo, Eg Packman and as Packman has some of the files that Mozilla does it can cause issues, so you need to remember to switch mozilla again after you do it on Packman.
    Although in the main Packman packages should have priority
    So, if I want to update KDE from one repo, and firefox from another repo, should I switch for every update?

    According to you, every time I want to update packages from a specific repo I have to switch to that repo. What happens if I have multiple repos? That was the reason why I looked for the option to allow vendor change, just to have the newest packages from my repos according to their priorities.

    Do I understand it wrong?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Once you have the packages switched they hold at that (Unless you use the switcher on another repo)
    So once you have it all setup and switched as you like it, all you need do is: zypper up

    But if you are using say kde factory and want to make sure a major upgrade gets switched correctly, you will want to use the switcher but you may need to go back to packman and (rather than use the switcher) just manually use the radio button on the version tab to get back the one or two packages you need supplied by packman Eg; k3b, kaffeine
    ImageBam - Fast, Free Image Hosting and Photo Sharing

    Try and keep your repos to a minimum and get to understand the SUSE packaging.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,871

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Nope, once you have installed from a vendor (a repo) it will stick to that vendor. Thus when you have FF from Mozilla, it will not update a newer version from Packman. And once you have the codecs from packman, it will not install newer version from OSS. And that is what we want, don't we?
    Henk van Velden

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Package updates, repository priorities, and vendor change

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    Nope, once you have installed from a vendor (a repo) it will stick to that vendor. Thus when you have FF from Mozilla, it will not update a newer version from Packman. And once you have the codecs from packman, it will not install newer version from OSS. And that is what we want, don't we?
    Correct.
    But if you need to use the switch on a repo at some time and it has packages from one of the other repos it will change them. I have seen this recently with folks using mozilla repo, having done the Packman switch, some mozilla gets switched to packman. (which borks mozilla) So they have to re-apply mozilla switch, then all is good.
    Hence:

    • Get to know and understand the packaging
    • Don't add repos indiscriminately
    • Keep repos to a minimum
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •