Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 11.3 Intel blank screen at boot

Question 11.3 Intel blank screen at boot

Hi. I currently have 11.2 installed on my Dell Optiplex sx270. This desktop pc has Intel chips and cards all the way. When I boot the KDE live cd for 11.3, my monitor goes into sleep mode before the desktop loads. If I wait long enough, I will eventually hear the open music, but I still have no screen. This is not a new problem - 11.2 is one of the only OS's that I have been able to install on this system. I was aware that this could happen from the release notes, but I really hoped it wouldn't. I am a noob and need commands for further info to be posted. Please help me. I want to be updated and really fell in love with 11.2.

p.s. my plan had been to boot the live cd and do a fresh install from the desktop. I've had such bad luck installing linux operating systems because of this Intel ****.

I have the Intel 865G Integrated Graphics Controller.

Blog Entries

Default Re: 11.3 Intel blank screen at boot

There is no Sax2 and no udev. The way to do this is Xorg -configure. X.Org Wiki - ConfigurationHelp
    ______________________________________________________________________________________
    Don't ask "if" something can be done, for it can always be done. Rather instead ask "How" can it be done.

Thanks a bunch. Now, how do I actually do this? I understand the basics but do I get to root from the live cd? I am so confused!

Do I need to install it and then run configure xorg using rescue to get to root?

I am seeing the same problem. I have a brand new system with onboard graphics ATI HD 4200.