Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    158

    Default Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    if this is the wrong thread please move it. i was looking for security related thread, cause this possibly describes my problem more exact.

    i want to write a security related script for opensuse 11.2 and above. For this reason i want to install and run bastille to check and recognize what security issues exists and how i can fix them.

    i downloaded and installed bastille rpm over the sourceforge website. And i installed the mandatory packages perl-Tk and perl-Cursers via zypper.

    I run bastille as follows:
    Code:
    bastille -x
    and than it tells me
    Code:
    SE11.2' is not a supported operating system.
    Valid operating system versions are as follows:
    
     OSX:
             'OSX10.2' 'OSX10.3' 'OSX10.4' 
             HP-UX:
             'HP-UX11.00' 'HP-UX11.11' 'HP-UX11.22' 'HP-UX11.23' 'HP-UX11.31' 
             
             LINUX:
             'DB2.2' 'DB3.0' 'RH6.0' 'RH6.1' 'RH6.2' 
             'RH7.0' 'RH7.1' 'RH7.2' 'RH7.3' 'RH8.0' 
             'RH9' 'RHEL5' 'RHEL4AS' 'RHEL4ES' 'RHEL4WS' 
             'RHEL3AS' 'RHEL3ES' 'RHEL3WS' 'RHEL2AS' 'RHEL2ES' 
             'RHEL2WS' 'RHFC1' 'RHFC2' 'RHFC3' 'RHFC4' 
             'RHFC5' 'RHFC6' 'RHFC7' 'RHFC8' 'MN6.0' 
             'MN6.1 ' 'MN7.0' 'MN7.1' 'MN7.2' 'MN8.0' 
             'MN8.1' 'MN8.2' 'MN10.1' 'SE7.2' 'SE7.3' 
             'SE8.0' 'SE8.1' 'SE9.0' 'SE9.1' 'SE9.2' 
             'SE9.3' 'SE10.0' 'SE10.1' 'SE10.2' 'SE10.3' 
             'SESLES8' 'SESLES9' 'SESLES10' 'TB7.0'
    obviously bastille doesnt support opensuse 11.2. does anybody know a trick or a workaround to get this running anyway.

    greetz l1zard

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    I guess there is a conflict with apparmor or SELinux. I use this on Ubuntu and it works there. Let me try installing it on opensuse.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    Check whether you have Perl module Tk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    158

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    And i installed the mandatory packages perl-Tk and perl-Cursers via zypper.

    S | Name | Typ | Version | Arch | Repository
    --+-------------+-------+--------------+------+------------------
    i | perl-Curses | Paket | 1.27-2.1 | i586 | openSUSE-11.2-Oss
    i | perl-Tk | Paket | 804.028-51.4 | i586 | openSUSE-11.2-Oss

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    do bastille -c and check whether you go somewhere

    on buntu i have not used tk yet but i managed by -c

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    158

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    its the same as expected scince -c uses the same profile config files as -x. the differnce between both is just the interface.

    and no i have not ubuntu. i have opensuse. this is a completely different distrtibuiton

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    Yup, i know that just wanted to make sure. I am in buntu right now, will run bastille in suse when i get in there.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    158

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    thx. so all i need now is good manual howto setup apparmor and how to setup the firewall correctly. has anybody a good tutorial or something on app armor and suse firewall. what does dmz mean what are the differences between the zones?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default Re: Bastille on opensuse 11.2

    Deny incoming traffic and that should set your firewall. Install nmap and scan yourself for finding open ports. YaST will assist you with AppArmor.

    May the force be with you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •