Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: KDE switching user session

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default KDE switching user session

    Hi,
    i installed KDE 4.3.5 on my existing Gnome desktop and i have two users using the computer.
    Now from Gnome i am accustomed to switch between session very easy and the sessions continue to run.
    If i use the Switch option from KDE it just looks my screen and does not switch. Is it possible that i miss some programs? I installed it with Yast and used the group option.
    I am pretty sure that i missed something during the installation.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,761

    Default Re: KDE switching user session

    Do you have auto login enabled?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: KDE switching user session

    No, but i suspect that i don't have everything installed.
    With the next release i will install plain KDE and see what will happen. Its just a couple of days anyway.
    I was wrong on how i installed it. It was patterns instead of group. The one i did not install was basic. It would break my gnome audiodrivers and more if i remember right. Perhaps thats the problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,761

    Default Re: KDE switching user session

    You need basic

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: KDE switching user session

    Thats what i suspected.
    Does not matter really. I will do a new install onces the new release is out. Then just KDE.

    But i am curious, can you install both? The reason i am asking is, that i would currently break gnome because of the sounddrivers. At least thats what came up first at install.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,761

    Default Re: KDE switching user session

    If you install from the DVD you can.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •