Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: freezing on start up

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Default freezing on start up

    Hi, In new to linux as you can probably tell but i was hoping for some help. A little while ago i bought a magazine with the openSUSE 11.1 distro on it but couldn't install it so i gave up. I am attempting to have another go. The problem is that the os will work fine when booted from CD in fail safe mode and can be installed from there but when out of fail safe mode the system begins to boot but freezes and will do nothing more. I believe it to a be a graphics problem as this is my laptop and has an awful chip set, but i may very well be wrong.

    Any help is much apprieciated but please keep it simple as i get easily confused, thank you.
    Alex

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    first, you have to realize we can't see your machine and you need to
    tell us about:

    -laptop brand/model number
    -RAM
    -free/usuable hard drive space
    -cpu maker/speed
    -graphics system brand/model

    software
    -brand/version of other OS on machine, if any
    -do you want to dual boot
    -is the magazine 11.1 the only one you have? is it a KDE or Gnome?

    [then, any who sees the needed info can take Alex the next step, while
    i snooze---i suspect a low RAM condition and/or ATI]
    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    via NNTP w/TBird 2.0.0.23 | KDE 3.5.7 | openSUSE 10.3
    2.6.22.19-0.4-default SMP i686
    AMD Athlon 1 GB RAM | GeForce FX 5500 | ASRock K8Upgrade-760GX |
    CMedia 9761 AC'97 Audio

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    Did you laptop come with pre-installed windows or propriety software.

  4. #4

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    e systems 1201
    1gb or there abouts
    120gb
    intel pentium dual core 1.73 ghz processor
    sis mirage M672mx

    It orginally came with vista which i removed at put XP on then removed that when first installing openSUSE
    no
    KDE

    It came with vista but that was pre-installed

    cheers for the quick replies
    Alex

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    572

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    It is probably the recovery partition that still messes up your suse install. Do you have Acronis like system or parted magic. Wipe it clean and do a fresh install.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,037
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    Quote Originally Posted by avenuemax View Post
    It is probably the recovery partition that still messes up your suse install. Do you have Acronis like system or parted magic. Wipe it clean and do a fresh install.
    This has never been an issue. openSUSE doesn't care what's on other partitions.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,037
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    When booting, hit Esc as soon as you see the bootsplash (so not the bootmenu, but the splashscreen afterwards. It should show you exactly where it stops/freezes. Please post the last couple of lines (make a photo of it, or type the messages). My guess is, it's the videocard.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    ACPI: Video Device [VGA] (multi-head: yes rom: no post: no)
    thermal LNXTHERM: 01: registered as themal_zone 0
    ACPI: Thermal Zone [TZ01] (41 c)

    Those are the last three lines before it crashes.
    Alex

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    alexs17 wrote:
    > ACPI: Video Device [VGA] (multi-head: yes rom: no post: no)
    > thermal LNXTHERM: 01: registered as themal_zone 0
    > ACPI: Thermal Zone [TZ01] (41 c)
    >
    > Those are the last three lines before it crashes.


    at the first green screen during boot, where it lets you decide to
    boot normal or failsafe:

    -press the down arrow
    -type acpi=off
    -press Enter
    -boot should commence, press Esc and watch
    -report back with outcome and last lines seen this time

    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    via NNTP w/TBird 2.0.0.23 | KDE 3.5.7 | openSUSE 10.3
    2.6.22.19-0.4-default SMP i686
    AMD Athlon 1 GB RAM | GeForce FX 5500 | ASRock K8Upgrade-760GX |
    CMedia 9761 AC'97 Audio

  10. #10

    Default Re: freezing on start up

    tried that and only got a completely black screen didn't matter whether i pressed escape or not

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •