Thread: BRL-CAD

Default BRL-CAD

Hi, complete newbie here, just installed opensuse 11.2 with KDE 4.3.5

Not sure if this is the place to post this, but searching online it seemed like most people with similar problems posted on the forums of whatever Linux distro they were using. Apologies if I'm in the wrong place...

I'm trying to get BRL-CAD set up, as I need to use CAD/CAE software a lot and would prefer to use open source software as much as possible. I downloaded the binaries (release 7.10.4), extracted them using tar and tried to run the program by cd-ing to the relevant directory in konsole and typing ./mged"

I get the following error:

./mged: error while loading shared libraries: libtermio.so.19: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
    libtermio.so.19 is in a "lib" folder. Does anyone have an idea what could be going wrong here, or what I could try to fix it?

Thank you in advance for your help

Default Re: BRL-CAD

On Tue, 29 Jun 2010 21:46:01 +0000, narcho wrote:

>> ./mged: error while loading shared libraries: libtermio.so.19: cannot
    >> open shared object file: No such file or directory

>
    > libtermio.so.19 is in a "lib" folder. Does anyone have an idea what
    > could be going wrong here, or what I could try to fix it?

Where specifically is it located on your system - and are you running 32-
    bit or 64-bit (both platform and application)?

Jim

--
    Jim Henderson
    openSUSE Forums Administrator

Quote Originally Posted by narcho View Post
    Not sure if this is the place to post this, but searching online it seemed like most people with similar problems posted on the forums of whatever Linux distro they were using. Apologies if I'm in the wrong place...
    Probably more ideal would to file a BRL-CAD support request on their Sourceforge tracker as your question isn't specific to SUSE, but there's lots of helpful people here too.