Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Thunderbird install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    19

    Default Thunderbird install

    new here and would appreciate a little help. I downloaded the tarball of thunderbird
    extracted it. then did the ./ install of it and it ran ok and I set up my e-mail account.
    however it didn't put the icon to launch it anywhere that I can see.
    is there another app in the extracted file that I should run to set this up???
    thank you.
    Larry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Planet Earth
    Posts
    194

    Default Re: Thunderbird install

    Are you running KDE 4 or gnome ?

    The easiest way to install thunderbird is to add the Mozilla repo and install through yast.

    Assuming you are using 11.2:

    Index of /repositories/mozilla/openSUSE_11.2

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Thunderbird install

    shipinomore wrote:
    > new here and would appreciate a little help. I downloaded the tarball of
    > thunderbird
    > extracted it. then did the ./ install of it and it ran ok and I set up
    > my e-mail account.
    > however it didn't put the icon to launch it anywhere that I can see.
    > is there another app in the extracted file that I should run to set
    > this up???
    > thank you.
    > Larry
    >
    >

    did you want to do the tarball and compile thing or did you think that
    was the easiest way..

    i mean, i see you just arrived here (welcome) and i know there is a
    great misunderstanding about how really difficult it is to install
    stuff in Linux....but, it just ain't true..

    it could have been so easy, just use YaST, which will go to a
    repository of thousands of FREE programs that can be easily installed
    (search, click 'Accept', done) and it automatically adds the program
    and icon to the menu...AND, it is as easy to uninstall....AND, if
    there is a security update, all you have to do is click OK (and give a
    password)...

    all that going to somewhere, downloading, click click click,
    configure, make, make install...that was last century!

    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    posted via NNTP w/TBird 2.0.0.23 | KDE 3.5.7 | openSUSE 10.3
    2.6.22.19-0.4-default SMP i686
    AMD Athlon 1 GB RAM | GeForce FX 5500 | ASRock K8Upgrade-760GX |
    CMedia 9761 AC'97 Audio

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Thunderbird install

    Hi dragon32
    wiell I am using suse 11.2 and gnome.
    I tried yast2 --install thunderbird but I don't think that it worked.
    also noted that yast2 listed -i, nmae
    alos I had done --remove and that worked for me.
    I would rather use rpm and they are so easy but so often I get involved with tarball and don not fully understand the make file etc.
    thanks for the tip and several others also sent notes so will see what an old guy can learn.
    Larry

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Thunderbird install

    Hi Larry,

    What was meant when we said to use Yast2 is to use the graphical user interface (GUI) for installing packages.

    If you click on Computer in the bottom left, look for and click Yast Control Center. Then click into Software Management (under the Software category). From here you can search for Thunderbird and mark it to be installed, click accept and Yast does all the work for you

    You can do this for many packages that are in the openSUSE repositories (such as firefox, openoffice, etc.).

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Thunderbird install

    lan thank you. I was getting software manager brought up when doing yast2 install but did not seem to be doing what I thought I wanted.right now it is installing.
    Larry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •