Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: All time Konqueror users please join..

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    88

    Default All time Konqueror users please join..

    Hello, Guys

    Just this Konqueror issue bothers me really bad. So decide to share it here and see if anyone has a better solution.

    Java support is really poor in konqueror.

    For example,
    1. on webex.com and just try to join a test meeting. It never opens the meeting window however there is no error or any kind prompt.
    2. facebook.com, if you try to upload a picture, you have to choose simple uploading tool in konqueror in order to do the job.

    Why java can not be made work properly like in firefox and chrome? Is there any critical hurdle that I did not know?

    My solution: use konqueror for normal browsing and switch to firefox or chrome for java sites. This bothers, right?

    Please suggest some useful solution if you have.

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    chinese ys wrote:
    > This bothers, right?


    no, it does not bother me since my motto is use what works!

    i have four browsers here and use three of them constantly....one i
    keep only because it works with one of my online banks (and the others
    do not), another i keep because it works with a different and most
    other sites....but is not best for some sites..

    see, as long as website designers are free to either follow the W3
    standards *or* Redmond standards there will always be a need for more
    than one browser (or, just not go to some sites)..

    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    posted via NNTP w/TBird 2.0.0.23 | KDE 3.5.7 | openSUSE 10.3
    2.6.22.19-0.4-default SMP i686
    AMD Athlon 1 GB RAM | GeForce FX 5500 | ASRock K8Upgrade-760GX |
    CMedia 9761 AC'97 Audio

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post

    see, as long as website designers are free to either follow the W3
    standards *or* Redmond standards there will always be a need for more
    than one browser (or, just not go to some sites)..
    Well, I would have to disagree with you on this. I know there is no single browser handles all the websites out there pefectly (maybe IE?). However for the most sites I normal go, firefox or chrome handles pretty well. Konqueror on the other hand, works for non java sites pretty good.

    If it is really not possible for konqueror team to make it work properly with java sites, I would think I change default browser to firefox or chrome. (I hate to do so but I hate to constantly switching too).

  4. #4

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    The thing with konqueror is it access's java directly no plugin it is a different beast. Sorry don't have a solution as I stopped using kde.

    Konqueror - Java HOWTO
    Man first, have a try at Info, have a look at Wiki, if all that fails Scroogle!!!!!
    If I've helped click on the Rep button I don't know what it does but it sounds cool.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    Quote Originally Posted by FeatherMonkey View Post
    The thing with konqueror is it access's java directly no plugin it is a different beast. Sorry don't have a solution as I stopped using kde.

    Konqueror - Java HOWTO
    Interesting about the link. I checked it last week too. However I really think it is out of date now.

    Anyway, thanks for the info

  6. #6

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    Not sure why you think it is out of date...

    [KDE] Index of /trunk/KDE/kdelibs/kjs kjs still exists in trunk.

    So IMHO it is very much still relevant.
    Man first, have a try at Info, have a look at Wiki, if all that fails Scroogle!!!!!
    If I've helped click on the Rep button I don't know what it does but it sounds cool.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    Quote Originally Posted by FeatherMonkey View Post
    Not sure why you think it is out of date...

    [KDE] Index of /trunk/KDE/kdelibs/kjs kjs still exists in trunk.

    So IMHO it is very much still relevant.
    Section about: Getting HTTPS support for Applets is out of date at least.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Posts
    3,448

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    Konqueror is work in progress. You can sometimes get things to work by enabling WebKit with View>View Mode>WebKit or by explicitly right clicking.

    Also it is part of KDE philosophy to reuse elements; so calling another application to do a particular job rather than having duplicate code in Konqueror fits the KDE philosophy.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    Quote Originally Posted by john_hudson View Post
    Konqueror is work in progress. You can sometimes get things to work by enabling WebKit with View>View Mode>WebKit or by explicitly right clicking.

    Also it is part of KDE philosophy to reuse elements; so calling another application to do a particular job rather than having duplicate code in Konqueror fits the KDE philosophy.
    Are u running KDE 4.3.5 or KDE 4.4 already? Because my KDE 4.3.5 konqueror does not have that view mode under view menu.

    BTW, Which kde version will be included in 11.3?

  10. #10

    Default Re: All time Konqueror users please join..

    << Originally Posted by john_hudson:
    << ... enabling WebKit with View>View Mode>WebKit ...

    < Are u running KDE 4.3.5 or KDE 4.4 already?
    < Because my KDE 4.3.5 konqueror does not have that view mode under view menu.

    My Konqueror (4.4.3) does not have that option, either.
    With 4.3.x, I did the following (now 4.4.3, too).

    Launch a terminal emulator (konsole, xterm, sakura, etc.),
    and enter on the commandline:

    $ keditfiletype text/html

    When a small window pops up, click on the "Embedding" tab.
    Move "WebKit(webkitpart)" to the top. Click "Apply".

    [Excuse my formatting. I am not familiar with forum conventions.]

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •