Thread: HTTP Server and VirtualHosts issues

Default HTTP Server and VirtualHosts issues

Ok,I have been working on this for days and looking in forums, haven't found an answer yet.. SO, I need lots of help... Yes, I'm a newb but sort of know my way around PC's.. here is what I have.

Current setup = 11.2 OpenSuse on desktop hardware, I have 2 websites I want to host and do so now on a windows xp with apache2. I have one IP and hosting multiple sites some same machine / IP.

1. I installed Apache2
    2. I installed HTTP Server
    3. By default the location for hosting is svr/www/htdocs (this is not changeable via the HTTP Server application or i don't know how, but i have tried)
    4. I add website 1 files here
    5. I restart the http server
    6. test by viewing website1 from another machine via url
    result > works

7. I try to add website2 in the Virtual host tab of HTTP Server by adding the document root = /srv/www/htdocs/website2
    8. Server Name = website2
    9. Admin Email required
    10. Change VirtualHost ID = *
    11. Enable the 'Determine Request Server by HTTP Headers'
    12. Select OK
    13, Most of the time this is saves as is but sometimes the option defaults to 'Determine Request Server by Address IP' config file in the vhosts.d folder.
    14. Select OK, when I test this... I always get the website2 even when i put in website1 url..