Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Remote login

  1. #1

    Default Remote login

    hi, i'm using OpenSuSE 11.2 and was wondering if there is anyway to set remote login as the default login method.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Remote login

    I think → this article will cover any possible issue.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,978

    Default Re: Remote login

    Quote Originally Posted by Damo990 View Post
    hi, i'm using OpenSuSE 11.2 and was wondering if there is anyway to set remote login as the default login method.
    As the article will tell you almost everything, I will only comment on your whish for "default login method".

    As the different login metods are not excluding each other, there is not such a thing as a default login. You can of course make some of the login methods unavailable (even those that come switched on in a default install).
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4

    Default Re: Remote login

    to clarify "default login method". when you first boot openSuSE you are presented with a login screen, ie your local login. i was hoping to find a way the set it so that the the login screen you saw was a remote login for a particular pc. i had a quick look at the above link, but didn't see anything which helped. although i dont understand alot of it

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,978

    Default Re: Remote login

    That is four days ago, that I asked something. Normaly I unsubscribe from a thread after nobody posts in it for about two days. You are lucky that I was lazy.

    Also I am not sure about the "first" boot (because what you describe at avery boot when you do not change sopmething) I think I understand what you want. You want to use the system as a remote terminal for loging in in an (or more) other systems.

    Afte all the default (yes, you are not wrong at all in calling this a default situation) install configures the display manager such that it only works with local system.

    One of the possibilities is to create what was (is) known as an X-terminal. You configure xdm/kdm/gdm on the system(s) where you want remote login made pissibel to use the XDMCP protocol (on ports 6000 - 6063). The X-terminal runs only X, configured to contacts the XDMCP server(s). (When there are more a chooser may be used) and the login screen of the display manager ((xdm/kdn/gdm) is presented. The X-server only runs X and all keyboard/mouse actions and monitor changes are send over the network (sound is a different problem though). Such an X-server needs to have X software, but desktop software (KDE, Gnome) is not needed.

    I once created such a beast. I let it run in runlevel 3 and added the running X to /etc/inittab for runlevel 3. That may not be standard, running normaly from runlevel 5 must be possible. But I have to digg in my memory to surface the details.

    This is nowadays considered as not too secure, but as you restrict the whole bussines to a LAN with a good firewall in the router there shous not be to much concern about the security imho.

    Search for more about "X display manager" in Wikipedia.
    Henk van Velden

  6. #6

    Default Re: Remote login

    thanks for the reply, and sorry it took me so long but i dont check my e-mails all that often. i'll be sure to check x-terminal and see if it helps. i was thinking that maybe if i explain my problem a bit more clearly it might help so here goes.

    i'm currently studying a course where we have to setup a linux install for a small business with 3 pc's. the way i want to have the computers setup is so that 2 of the pc's login remotely to a main computer, therefore removing the need for file share server. i was hoping to find a way so that an employee could power the pc up and login without having to manualy change the session to a remote login session.

    thanks in advance for any info you can offer

    p.s using SuSE11.2, tried SLED but that failed to even let me remote login

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,978

    Default Re: Remote login

    What I will do now is trying to find out things. When I find something that might be interesting, I post it here. I hope this will feed you in finding a solution partly by my suggestions, partly by your actions. So this is not a howto, but hints and brainstorming.

    First I want to recap what I understood. Not that you are that vague, but to make sure we are talking the same things.
    You have a system that I will call Main and two that I will call PC1 and PC2.
    Users have the availability of PC1 and PC2.

    When the users log in they always log in in the GUI on Main. I am not sure if login to the GUI on Main itself must be possible also. Other question, which desktop is used? Thus their home directories, etc. are on Main. They only use PC1 and PC2 as keyboard/mouse/monitor devices, everything else runs on Main.

    Assuming the above is (nearly) correct (please fine tune when applicable), I first tried to find out how Main can be configured to listen to remote logins on the Display Manager.

    Goto YaST > System > /etc/sysconfig editor. There open Desktop and then Display manager. Read about DISPLAY_MANAGER_REMOTE ACCESS:
    Allow remote access (XDMCP) to your display manager (xdm/kdm/gdm). Please note
    that a modified kdm or xdm configuration, e.g. by KDE control center
    will not be changed. For gdm, values will be updated after change.
    XDMCP service should run only on trusted networks and you have to disable
    firewall for interfaces, where you want to provide this service.
    Also look at DISPLAY_MANAGER_STARTS_XSERVER:
    Let the displaymanager start a local Xserver.
    Set to "no" for remote-access only.
    This is to be used when Main should not offer a GUI login.

    Do you think I am going in the right direrction for what you want?
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,978

    Default Re: Remote login

    While trying to remember how I created the XDMCP client (it is more then two years ago that I used it, and the system where it resided on has no RAM or disk anymore ), I found this: SDB:Exporting the Graphical Output to a Remote Computer - openSUSE

    What I am trying to use is under chapter 3 here. As a neat surprise you will find the same parameters I allready talked about here. For the client side you need xdmsc which is in the OSS repository.

    There are some flaws in the SDB l refer to. The runlevel mentioned should be 3 instead of 2 (it is done correct in your /etc/inittab).

    When you still think you want to go for this, I would like to discuss the installation of PC1 and PC2.
    Henk van Velden

  9. #9

    Default Re: Remote login

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv View Post
    What I will do now is trying to find out things. When I find something that might be interesting, I post it here. I hope this will feed you in finding a solution partly by my suggestions, partly by your actions. So this is not a howto, but hints and brainstorming.

    First I want to recap what I understood. Not that you are that vague, but to make sure we are talking the same things.
    You have a system that I will call Main and two that I will call PC1 and PC2.
    Users have the availability of PC1 and PC2.

    When the users log in they always log in in the GUI on Main. I am not sure if login to the GUI on Main itself must be possible also. Other question, which desktop is used? Thus their home directories, etc. are on Main. They only use PC1 and PC2 as keyboard/mouse/monitor devices, everything else runs on Main.
    this is pretty much the setup i'm have at the moment, pc1 and pc2 log into main and yes someone can login to main itself. i have remote login working for all machines. "They only use PC1 and PC2 as keyboard/mouse/monitor devices, everything else runs on Main." is exactly how i have it setup.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,978

    Default Re: Remote login

    Quote Originally Posted by Damo990 View Post
    this is pretty much the setup i'm have at the moment, pc1 and pc2 log into main and yes someone can login to main itself. i have remote login working for all machines. "They only use PC1 and PC2 as keyboard/mouse/monitor devices, everything else runs on Main." is exactly how i have it setup.
    Then what is the question?
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •