Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Install without gnome/kde

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Install without gnome/kde

    is it possible to install suse with just xfce or do you need to install gnome as well, or kde.
    Once the new update hits i might just install the system new. Thats why kinda curious about this.

    Thanks for the input

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Install without gnome/kde

    There are some "lightweight" window managers offered during the initial install, so you don't need to install KDE or GNOME. As far as I know, LXDE will be supported in 11.3.

    You could also install SuSE without any desktop environment / windowmanager at all. Any package can be deselected during the install.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Install without gnome/kde

    Cool.
    I like that. Wasn't really sure anymore, but that will make it easier for me.

    Not that i don't like any of the other desktops.

    Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,179
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Install without gnome/kde

    is it possible to install suse with just xfce or do you need to install gnome as well, or kde.
    Once the new update hits i might just install the system new. Thats why kinda curious about this.
    You'll inevitably end up with some KDE and Gnome library packages as some apps will be built for these graphical environments.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Install without gnome/kde

    You'll inevitably end up with some KDE and Gnome library packages as some apps will be built for these graphical environments.
    Not inevitably - as I wrote, you can deselect *any* package during the initial install. As this can also be done by using patterns, it's not too much of a hassle either.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,179
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Install without gnome/kde

    Not inevitably - as I wrote, you can deselect *any* package during the initial install. As this can also be done by using patterns, it's not too much of a hassle either.
    Of course, I understand that. Mayeb I didn't explain that as well as I could have. I meant that this can happen as a prerequiste to installing an application (ie to inform the OP about why it may happen that some KDE/Gnome related packages may be installed post-installation).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •