Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Gnome Shell doesn't work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Gnome Shell doesn't work

    Hi,
    i tried gnome shell from the software center, but it has some graphics issues.
    Is it my graphics driver?
    Does somebody have it running?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,768

    Default Re: Gnome Shell doesn't work

    Perhaps a little more information about what you are doing?

    Are you speaking of the Gnome desktop??

    Do you have KDE installed?

    It is not clear what you mean by Software center. Are you speaking about Yast-Software Managment?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Gnome Shell doesn't work

    mm.. i have to update my driver before i can determine if something is really wrong.
    But, i do run Gnome and have Suse 11.2.
    Oh, the software center... i always refer to ubuntu somehow.
    Now i meant yast.

    If i start into Gnomeshell, one side is ok, but the right side of the screen is broken.
    I can not see any menu's and therfore don't know what i am selecting.

    But i think i need to update my gfx driver (GT8800 Nvidia). I think that might be the problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,768

    Default Re: Gnome Shell doesn't work

    Maybe.... But the name of the app is Nautilus in gnome I think. (I use KDE).

    IMO the problem is perhaps in the gnome configuration files. Add a new user account and see if they also have the problem. If not you can fix the problem by reanming the nautilus configuration files in the ~/.gnome directory (in your home)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Gnome Shell doesn't work

    I will try that as well. Have not yet done it.

    Right now i installed Xfce and i have to say i like it.

    Still, i will try to get Gnome Shell running as well. I liked the concept of gnome shell.
    I even would install Meego if i can, but thats only for netbooks.

    I will post how it will go. Thanks for the hint

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,195
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Gnome Shell doesn't work

    Quote Originally Posted by yester64
    I will try that as well. Have not yet done it.

    Right now i installed Xfce and i have to say i like it.

    Still, i will try to get Gnome Shell running as well. I liked the
    concept of gnome shell.
    I even would install Meego if i can, but thats only for netbooks.

    I will post how it will go. Thanks for the hint
    Hi
    You also need to ensure your desktop effects are disabled before tying
    to run the gnome shell preview.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 3:36, 2 users, load average: 0.26, 0.16, 0.10
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 195.36.15


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    i am location
    Posts
    1,421

    Default Re: Gnome Shell doesn't work

    I don't think i had any effects on, but have to double check just to make sure.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •