Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    On 05/28/2010 07:16 PM, swerdna wrote:
    >
    > The references I get from google for the Broadcom 1390 in Linux are
    > still using ndiswrapper, even the posts from 2010. I wonder if it's such
    > an old chip that ndiswrapper is all that will support it. Tell us more
    > about your computer and its wireless device please. And also run this
    > command:
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > /sbin/lspci -k
    > --------------------
    > I don't want to see all the output, just the paragraph pertaining to you
    > wireless card.


    Drivers b43 and b43legacy support all the old chips, even though the
    Broadcom wl driver does not. Thus one can use wl for the 802.11n devices
    (for the moment) and b43/b43legacy for the rest.

  2. #12

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    Code:
    0b:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN [14e4:4311] (rev 01)
            Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card [1028:0007]
            Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge
    The computer is on the older side - a Dell Inspiron e1505 / Core Duo, ~6 years old perhaps. I've seen a few threads about using ndiswrapper; that seemed to be necessary for Ubuntu, but the impression I got was that the broadcom driver should do the trick for Opensuse - and to some extent it does. With Knetwork manager, I can connect and check email using Kmail with no problem, it's just the browsers that seem to be causing the issue.
    Thanks.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kansas City Area, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    7,235

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    On 05/28/2010 10:26 PM, kriskwo wrote:
    >
    > Code:
    > --------------------
    > 0b:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11b/g WLAN [14e4:4311] (rev 01)
    > Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1390 WLAN Mini-Card [1028:0007]
    > Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge


    I have a BCM4311 that works with no problems. Whatever your difficulty,
    it is not with the b43 driver, nor with NetworkManager. Once the
    connection is established, NM simply gets out of the way. There is a lot
    of misinformation on the Web.

    BTW, in your second post, your interface had authenticated and
    associated. Once you see the ESSID, AP MAC address and the encryption
    key, the connection is ready. If you could not use it then, the problem
    was with DNS or routing. There are lots of things to setup when using
    ifup that are done for you with NM.

    Please restore control with NM, then go to
    http://www.linux-tips-and-tricks.de/index.php/, download the script
    collectNWData.sh and run it. It will tell you what is wrong with your
    setup. If you have questions about it, you can post the output with
    pastebin.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,002

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    When you can not connect using IP addresses, we could check for your routing. Post the ouput of:
    Code:
    netstat -rn
    Henk van Velden

  5. #15

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    hcw, from netstat I get
    Code:
    linux-8jrt:/home/kriskwo/Download # netstat -rn
    Kernel IP routing table
    Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags   MSS Window  irtt Iface
    192.168.1.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U         0 0          0 eth0
    127.0.0.0       0.0.0.0         255.0.0.0       U         0 0          0 lo
    0.0.0.0         192.168.1.1     0.0.0.0         UG        0 0          0 eth0
    lwfinger, I ran that script and get an
    Code:
    !!! CND0110E: For the selected connection type there was no active network interface found on your system
    Which is : "A network card was detected by the hardware. But Linux either can't load the required hardware driver (module) or there are problems with the WLAN firmware." This doesn't seem to agree with iwconfig (I noted the script says it uses ifconfig) which gives me
    Code:
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:"robert"
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.452 GHz  Access Point: 00:2A:52:E6:5B:72
              Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=20 dBm
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xx
              Power Management:off
              Link Quality=70/70  Signal level=-16 dBm  Noise level=-68 dBm
              Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
              Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0
    ifconfig gives me
    Code:
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:16:CE:6B:7D:D0
              inet6 addr: fe80::216:ceff:fe6b:7dd0/64 Scope:Link
              UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:23 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:6745 (6.5 Kb)
    Thanks again for your time.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,002

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    Whwn 192.168.1.1 is your router the routing table is OK.
    Henk van Velden

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    310

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    My 10cents worth if your card is working correctly - stick with ifup and install WICD, do the set up through that rather than YAST.
    It is dangerous to be right when the government is wrong.

  8. #18

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    Interestingly (and frustratingly) WICD works better - I think it gives me about twice the time that I get using network manager before it disconnects. But I'm still at under a minute of web usage. When it goes, for a few seconds afterwards the WICD menu shows no wireless connections. Then it repopulates and happily reconnects. It's almost as if my network card is intermittently resetting.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Using Yast / ifup instead of network manager

    Dumb suggestion, but, are you sure you arent using On-Demand connection?
    Meaning, when your not using internet, it auto disconnects.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •