Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Remove Gnome and only use KDE?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    60

    Default Remove Gnome and only use KDE?

    I just installed KDE and was thinking of if it works to remove Gnome complete and only run KDE?
    If that would work how do i remove Gnome? I did try to remove Gnome through Add/Remove Software but it didnt work.
    openSUSE 11.2 x64 KDE 4.3.5

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Remove Gnome and only use KDE?

    Why worry, if you leave it around it will only take up disk space. It won't run GNOME processes if you don't start the GNOME desktop (except for some services which are common to both desktops).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,646

    Default Re: Remove Gnome and only use KDE?

    Removing a desktop is tricky there can be inter dependencies depending on what Apps are installed. IMO just leave it. Otherwise you will just break something.

    If you are short of disk space, you may think about a new install.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: Remove Gnome and only use KDE?

    No its cool

    The thought just came if it worked to uninstall/remove Gnome after a desktop change.

    I leave it as it is, can also be great to have both KDE and Gnome installed Then i can change when i want.
    openSUSE 11.2 x64 KDE 4.3.5

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Remove Gnome and only use KDE?

    RimFrost wrote:
    > I leave it as it is, can also be great to have both KDE and Gnome
    > installed Then i can change when i want.


    not only can you change when you want, but you can run Nautilus (and
    etc) in KDE (and KWrite {for example} in Gnome)....it will just look
    kinda funky and out of place but it runs fine...try this:

    hold down Alt and press F2, up will pop a run command, in the blank
    type nautilus and click 'run'....enjoy the freedom, you can have it
    your way today and your different way tomorrow and . . .

    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    posted via NNTP w/TBird 2.0.0.23 | KDE 3.5.7 | openSUSE 10.3
    2.6.22.19-0.4-default SMP i686
    AMD Athlon 1 GB RAM | GeForce FX 5500 | ASRock K8Upgrade-760GX |
    CMedia 9761 AC'97 Audio

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    60

    Default Re: Remove Gnome and only use KDE?

    Quote Originally Posted by DenverD View Post
    RimFrost wrote:
    > I leave it as it is, can also be great to have both KDE and Gnome
    > installed Then i can change when i want.


    not only can you change when you want, but you can run Nautilus (and
    etc) in KDE (and KWrite {for example} in Gnome)....it will just look
    kinda funky and out of place but it runs fine...try this:

    hold down Alt and press F2, up will pop a run command, in the blank
    type nautilus and click 'run'....enjoy the freedom, you can have it
    your way today and your different way tomorrow and . . .

    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
    CAVEAT: C A V E A T
    posted via NNTP w/TBird 2.0.0.23 | KDE 3.5.7 | openSUSE 10.3
    2.6.22.19-0.4-default SMP i686
    AMD Athlon 1 GB RAM | GeForce FX 5500 | ASRock K8Upgrade-760GX |
    CMedia 9761 AC'97 Audio

    Yeah thats one of all the good things with Linux.
    That i can change it so it behave and appear the way i want.
    Like an example: If i get tired of Gnome i can run KDE, and if i get tired of KDE i can change back to Gnome.
    openSUSE 11.2 x64 KDE 4.3.5

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •