Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: PPPOE Qinternet

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default PPPOE Qinternet

    Hello, i cant get Qinternet to auto reconnect when connection is lost due to dynamic IP changes from my ISP.


    Im using Ifup method.

    Thing is, every 24 hours, ISP changes my IP and thus, disconnects me from the internet. I need it to reconnect but dont know how to do it.


    OpenSUSE 11.2 x86_64

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    1,770

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    Post more details on how exactly you are connected and what equipment you use. Not everybody (including me) knows about the provider Qinternet.
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) with Kernel 3.7.10-1.16-desktop and KDE 4.11.2 on MacBook Pro
    Latest MS Windows version used: Win95

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    Qinternet is not a provider, its a simple program to connect to a pppoe connection.

    Its the Kinternet version for KDE4.


    Its a pppoe connection that needs username and password.
    And it disconnects from time to time to get a new IP direction.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    What i may actually need is a reconnect script.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    No one else uses PPPOE ?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,000
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    Look at /usr/share/doc/packages/smpppd/config.txt
    You need to add AUTO_RECONNECT to the file /etc/sysconfig/network/providers/<provider>.

    Generally it is:
    AUTO_RECONNECT='yes'
    AUTO_RECONNECT_DELAY='5'
    AUTO_RECONNECT_EXITS='0 15'

    For AUTO_RECONNECT_EXITS read 'man 8 pppd', section EXIT STATUS.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    So i should copy/paste those 3 lines into for example Kwrite, save a .txt file and then make kinternet use the script after disconnect ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,000
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    No. Add these lines to /etc/sysconfig/network/providers/<provider>

    <provider> -- name of your file.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    Ok, just did, hope it works

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,000
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: PPPOE Qinternet

    No news is good news.
    Hope it works.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •