Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Packagekit error

  1. #1

    Default Packagekit error

    Hello,

    I get a "packagekit error" while using my pc.
    "unexpected internal error"
    "more details: http://packman.iu-bremen.de/suse/11.0: Can't open /var/cache/zypp/solv/http:__packman.iu-bremen.de_suse_11.0/cookie"

    What does it mean, please?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,156

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    I suppose you do not get this error after half an hour of staring at the screen and not touching keyboard/mouse.

    Do you mind telling us what you where trying to do and what you did (this is not the same). when the error was shown?

    The problem with the software where these Forums run on is that it does not support web-cams nor crystal balls, thus we can not see what you are doing.
    Henk van Velden

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Sulzbach (Taunus), Hessen [Hesse], Deutschland [Germany]
    Posts
    2,178

    Arrow Re: Packagekit error

    Quote Originally Posted by opensuserxxx View Post
    Hello,

    I get a "packagekit error" while using my pc.
    "packagekit" (or package kit) is a GNOME program that does something with updates. See: PackageKit - Main Page
    In my openSuse11.3 the "Updater Applet" in the "Notification Area" of the panel starts (always in GNOME or by default in KDE) the packagekit or first the "package kit plugin".
    Documentation > Start-Up > Installation and Setup > Installing, Removing and Updating Software>Keeping the System Up-to-date (I. 3.3.) Novell Documentation
    In a updated openSUSE 11.0 it may be not quite different although it may have been different when you installed 11.0.
    http://www.novell.com/documentation/...10_startup.pdf

    So I guess something is wrong with one or more tools/programs of the package management in your system.
    Package management/Tools - openSUSE

    For example: After I had used SuSE's graphic Software Manager in YaST (yast2) instead of the programs described above to do the last update of zypper the Update Applet still shows me that he wants me to do this update. But as I have done it already this cannot be done.
    Quote Originally Posted by opensuserxxx View Post
    "unexpected internal error"
    "more details: http://packman.iu-bremen.de/suse/11.0: Can't open /var/cache/zypp/solv/http:__packman.iu-bremen.de_suse_11.0/cookie"

    What does it mean, please?

    thanks
    Have you done something about updating before (and if: to and with which program?)?
    Have you activated automatic updating?
    What version of "zypper" shows your "Software Manager" in YaST/is in your system installed?

    Have you or your system updated or new installed something from the Packman repository before the error message?

    Greetings
    pistazienfresser
    Last edited by pistazienfresser; 09-May-2010 at 08:34. Reason: not "also" but "although"

  4. #4

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    I get the message at system startup.
    I effectively noticed that something goes wrong with updatings; seems that system is not able to download them anymore...
    But how to fix this?
    How can I investigate correctly that error?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,852
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    Like Henk said in a poetic way: we need info, details.

    And be precise: this message cannot show on system startup. On startup of the software installer maybe.

    Be clear about what you did, update or not etc.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    Knurpht wrote:
    > And be precise: this message *cannot* show on system startup. On
    > startup of the software installer maybe.


    if it was running when s/he shutdown, won't it auto-run during
    start-up (unless that option has been disabled)?

    --
    DenverD (Linux Counter 282315)
    CAVEAT: http://is.gd/bpoMD
    posted via NNTP w/TBird 2.0.0.23 | KDE 3.5.7 | openSUSE 10.3
    2.6.22.19-0.4-default SMP i686
    AMD Athlon 1 GB RAM | GeForce FX 5500 | ASRock K8Upgrade-760GX |
    CMedia 9761 AC'97 Audio

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Rockyford Alberta Canada
    Posts
    1,296

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Like Henk said in a poetic way: we need info, details.

    And be precise: this message cannot show on system startup. On startup of the software installer maybe.

    Be clear about what you did, update or not etc.
    I got this notification after installing 11.2 at start-up. KPackagekit error. one after another going up the screen at the right. If you click one for details it says something about can't connect through Dbus. I just shut off auto-update and do it manually which works without errors.
    When your up to your a** in Alligators it's pretty hard to remember you intended to drain the swamp (author unknown)

  8. #8

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Like Henk said in a poetic way: we need info, details.

    And be precise: this message cannot show on system startup. On startup of the software installer maybe.

    Be clear about what you did, update or not etc.
    I switch on the PC and when start up is completed message appears. This is.
    I don't touch anything else. I don't use any program and do any thing with my pc.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    Found!

    It starts from the updating applet (packagekit 0.2.1).

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25,156

    Default Re: Packagekit error

    This means that what you call "starting the PC" you mean booting it and loging in. These are two seperate things even when you have automatic login switched on. And it is very usefull to tell those things. We can not look over your shoulder.

    Now you found out that it comes when your updater applet starts looking for updates. You could of course switch off the applet, but the problem is still there and will emerge again when you try to use YaST > Software Management or zypper (or the applet). Can you post please the output of
    Code:
    zypper lr -d
    Henk van Velden

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •