Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: ClamTK only GUI update?

  1. #1

    Question ClamTK only GUI update?

    I have opensuse 11.2 and when I run ClamTK and click on "help" then "check for updates", it only checks for GUI updates, not virus database updates. How can I make it check for virus database updates using ClamTK?, because I don't want to keep using sudo freshclam.

    By the way, does ClamAV offer real-time virus monitoring? Or does it only scan files?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    27,223
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: ClamTK only GUI update?

    Quote Originally Posted by ryan1414
    I have opensuse 11.2 and when I run ClamTK and click on "help" then
    "check for updates", it only checks for GUI updates, not virus database
    updates. How can I make it check for virus database updates using
    ClamTK?, because I don't want to keep using sudo freshclam.

    By the way, does ClamAV offer real-time virus monitoring? Or does it
    only scan files?
    Hi
    Just configure the freshclam service to start and it will do it
    automatically as per the /etc/freshclam.conf file.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 4 days 15:42, 3 users, load average: 1.85, 0.69, 0.51
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 195.36.15


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Yazd (Iran)
    Posts
    253

    Arrow Re: ClamTK only GUI update?

    how configure the freshclam service to start and automatically update in a scheduled time?
    MrAli
    Website: http://alihzadeh.blog.ir/

    My System: Hp pavilion dv2690ee notebook, Intel core2due 2.4, 3MB Cache, 250 GB HDD, 2 GB Ram.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: ClamTK only GUI update?

    Should we just stop and ask you what you are actually using it for
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Yazd (Iran)
    Posts
    253

    Default Re: ClamTK only GUI update?

    i want use it for scanning my flash memory because i have windows 7 beside openSUSE 12.1 and i do not like viruses to transfer with flash from linux to windows.
    and ...
    do you have any answer for this thread:
    how undate ClamAV?
    MrAli
    Website: http://alihzadeh.blog.ir/

    My System: Hp pavilion dv2690ee notebook, Intel core2due 2.4, 3MB Cache, 250 GB HDD, 2 GB Ram.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,734
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: ClamTK only GUI update?

    Ah, windows eh
    Never mind, I guess some folks still use it.

    You should probably install a anti-virus in windows too.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Yazd (Iran)
    Posts
    253

    Default Re: ClamTK only GUI update?

    i have avast anti virus in windows.
    MrAli
    Website: http://alihzadeh.blog.ir/

    My System: Hp pavilion dv2690ee notebook, Intel core2due 2.4, 3MB Cache, 250 GB HDD, 2 GB Ram.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Earth - Denmark
    Posts
    10,730

    Default Re: ClamTK only GUI update?


    > i have avast anti virus in windows.


    then use it to scan your flash..

    --
    DD http://tinyurl.com/DD-Caveat
    openSUSE®, the "German Engineered Automobiles" of operating systems!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •