Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Firefox 3.6 broken

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Firefox 3.6 broken

    Firefox was updated to 3.6 a day or so ago (as I have the mozilla repo added), and it ran the first time, but after a reboot would not even launch.

    No error messages or indeed any output when trying to launch it from the command line either.

    I downgraded to version 3.5.8 and it now works again.
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 broken

    No problem here.
    did you try a new .mozilla with 3.6 before you rolled back?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    29

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 broken

    Quote Originally Posted by growbag View Post
    Firefox was updated to 3.6 a day or so ago (as I have the mozilla repo added), and it ran the first time, but after a reboot would not even launch.

    No error messages or indeed any output when trying to launch it from the command line either.

    I downgraded to version 3.5.8 and it now works again.
    I got the same problem and did downgrade.
    With version 3.6.2 there was no problem but with 3.6.3 firefox is not working any more.
    Waiting for an update or version 3.6.4

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,743
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 broken

    My guess it's an incompatible add-on.
    It's not uncommon for some FF extensions to be a little behind the mozilla repo.

    Someone mentioned gecko in the other thread discussing this. I use gecko from Packman on one and from redDwarf on another box. No problem at all here.

    Name : MozillaFirefox Relocations: (not relocatable)
    Version : 3.6.3 Vendor: obs://build.opensuse.org/mozilla
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kln, Deutschland
    Posts
    1,054

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 broken

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    No problem here.
    did you try a new .mozilla with 3.6 before you rolled back?

    No, I didn't really have the patience, it was easier just to rollback cos I wanted to check emails and stuff . I'll leave it for few days and then try again.
    HP dv6645, Nvidia 8400m-gs, KDE 4.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    wichita
    Posts
    944

    Default Re: Firefox 3.6 broken

    There is a safe mode, if that makes any difference.

    Code:
    firefox -safe-mode
    A window pops up with some options:

    "Disable all add-ons" and choosing "Make changes and restart" disables all plugins when Firefox reopens.

    Kind of strange that only some people are having this problem.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •