Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: xsane problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default xsane problem

    Hi all,

    I use OpenSuse 11.1 and have an Agfa Snapscan e42 scanner. Until last week it worked fine under openSuse and I really love the xsane program.
    But then suddenly : it seems to be impossible to get the scanner working any more; I always get the following messages three times:


    Error during CMS conversion
    Could not open scanner ICM profile


    and then xsane 0.995 opens but I can't get the scanner doing anything.

    Under Windows XP however, my scanner works as usual.

    Could anyone give me some help, please ? Has a configuration file become corrupt ?

    Thank you very much,

    W

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: xsane problem

    Hello,

    Have you updated sane/xsane packages recently, perhaps there are problems with the new ones.
    Just type in this command in the konsole: rpm -qa --last | less
    If you find you have updated those packages recently you could try to revert to the old ones.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    20,382
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: xsane problem

    Hi wba

    I seem to remember this happening to me a long time ago. From memory, I think I had to disable colour management via the menu Preferences > Enable Color Management (uncheck). See if that helps. As F_Sauce mentioned, did you recently update?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sogndal, Noreg
    Posts
    1,103

    Default Re: xsane problem

    [ubuntu] Xsane Error - not working - Ubuntu Forums

    [ubuntu] how to use a scanner - Ubuntu Forums

    scanner hp scanjet 3570c - openSUSE Forums

    Somewhat similar to your problem perhaps? And possibly some useful information anyway.

    Cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,852
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: xsane problem

    Try removing the scanner from Yast - Hardware - Scanner. Reboot and re-add the scanner. See if that changes things.

    Open a terminal window, right after the scanner 'errors', and do:
    Code:
    dmesg | tail -20
    and post output here.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: xsane problem

    Thanks for your fast answer.

    No, apparently no recent update of the program has been installed. Last version is Feb 2009.

    I do not even know how to re-install xsane.

    When using YAST, I get the errors I sent in my first question.

    W

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: xsane problem

    Hello sir,

    I did what you asked.

    The scanner can make a preview (though not of the complete page).
    When I then want to scan, the scanner moves and buzzes, but I get no image that I can save.

    It then reproduces the error I already mentioned.


    When I execute dmsg
    I mostly get :

    do_IRQ : 0.107 No irq handler for vector

    Thank you,

    WB

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: xsane problem

    Hello again sir,

    When I type :

    scanimage --list --devices

    I get the correct answer :

    snapscan:libusb:002:002 is a AGFA SNAPSCAN e42 flatbed scanner

    When I type :

    scanimage --test

    it seems to pass as well.

    The apparatus seems to need 5 .ICM files. I do not know how, nor where, to look for them.

    W

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: xsane problem

    Thanks for your answer. No I did not update. And the checking or unchecking does not work either.

    W

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: xsane problem

    I unchecked it and, lo and behold, my scanner functions as normally as it ever did.

    Thank you,

    WB

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •