Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Issue with KDE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    127

    Default Issue with KDE

    I have recently switched to KDE from GNOME.

    In gnome I could re-arrange the order of the tabs that I have running. It doesn't allow me to do this in KDE. I'm sure somewhere there will be a way I can change it so that I can, but I have looked and cannot find a way to change it.

    Hopefully someone on here will be able to tell me how to change it so I can.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by milojb View Post
    I have recently switched to KDE from GNOME.

    In gnome I could re-arrange the order of the tabs that I have running. It doesn't allow me to do this in KDE. I'm sure somewhere there will be a way I can change it so that I can, but I have looked and cannot find a way to change it.

    Hopefully someone on here will be able to tell me how to change it so I can.

    Thank you.
    If it's a window (e.g. Dolphin), Hold Ctrl Key down while using your mouse pointer to move the tabs.

    Star_Gazer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by Star_Gazer View Post
    If it's a window (e.g. Dolphin), Hold Ctrl Key down while using your mouse pointer to move the tabs.

    Star_Gazer

    Hello, thank you for the reply. I just tried what you said, and it still isn't working.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by milojb View Post
    Hello, thank you for the reply. I just tried what you said, and it still isn't working.
    Which software are you trying to do this? I've tried Dolphin, Seamonkey, and it work for me. If I have the same software you are attempting to do this, I can test it on my end.

    Star_Gazer

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    South Dakota, USA
    Posts
    171

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    Having done some more tests, I believe the issue of reordering tabs in a window is specific to the particular software application being used - ex. in Konquerer, I could only get tabs moved by pressing the scroll button on the mouse, in Dolphin, I can use Ctrl + Mouse pointer, and in other applications, just the mouse pointer alone will move them.

    It would be nice if there was only one method to move tabs in windows around - unfortunately, that does not seem to be the case. So one has to seek the info in a help file, and / or, just expermint with the different software applications.

    Star_Gazer

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    Quote Originally Posted by Star_Gazer View Post
    Having done some more tests, I believe the issue of reordering tabs in a window is specific to the particular software application being used - ex. in Konquerer, I could only get tabs moved by pressing the scroll button on the mouse, in Dolphin, I can use Ctrl + Mouse pointer, and in other applications, just the mouse pointer alone will move them.

    It would be nice if there was only one method to move tabs in windows around - unfortunately, that does not seem to be the case. So one has to seek the info in a help file, and / or, just expermint with the different software applications.

    Star_Gazer

    I think I may have not explained my issue clear enough. I am talking about the panel at the bottom, where it has all of the applications that you have running. In GNOME I could just drag them to fit any order, but I am unable to do this in KDE. I think we may be talking abotu different things.

    Cheers for your reply.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,841
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    So we're talking about the task manager. Right click in the panel where the task manager normally is, click Configure Taskmanager / Taskmanager settings. A screen will open that allows you to configure the order. AFAIK dragging does not work, since the ordering is done from the configuration.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    /dev/swat
    Posts
    1,181

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    To add to Knurpht post,
    In task manager settings its the sorting option, change it to manual and there you go.
    Linux[openSUSE, KDE], PHP, MySQL, Wordpress, Tech News, etc :
    http://anl4u.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,841
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    Yep, found that out in the meantime . New options, every time I take a look. I love linux, love KDE#, ooooh, all the things we can do !!!!
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  10. #10

    Default Re: Issue with KDE

    Sorting Tabs in Task Manager
    =================================
    1) Right Klick Task Manager
    2) Select "Task Manager Settings" (Left Klick Obviously)
    3) Look and "Grouping & Sorting" Category
    4) Select Manually in Sorting Drop Down Menu
    5) Klick Ok
    6) Klick and Drag Tab which you want to move elsewhere inside the Task Manager

    Sorting Tabs in Konqueror
    =================================
    1) Select Tab which you want to move
    2) Press and hold CTRL + SHIFT + Left or Right depending on where you want to move the TAB
    3) Alternatively Right Klick Tab to Duplicate, Detach etc.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •