Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: virtualbox version ?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,700

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    If you installed the kernel and source/headers via Yast/zypper then a kernel update will automatically update the source/headers. So unless you are going totally outside normal install procedures this is not a problem.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NH-USA
    Posts
    240

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    which virtualbox version would be best for administrative software, ACT, excell, Word, etc. things like that.... I know wine is best for gaming, thanks in advance


    -cheers

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Dubai
    Posts
    1,770

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    Always go for the latest from the virtualbox.org site. There are minor enhancements in all releases.
    openSUSE 12.3 (x86_64) with Kernel 3.7.10-1.16-desktop and KDE 4.11.2 on MacBook Pro
    Latest MS Windows version used: Win95

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,700

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    Ok maybe a miss understanding abut VM's

    A VM is just a virtual machine you must install the OS into the VM. So you install your favorite version of the OS. So you must have a licensed copy to install. In my case I bought a OEM XP disk. But I could install 7 or Ubuntu or ReadHat etc. even shudder shake VISTA. What a VM does is give your a second third or more machine that runs inside you actual metal. You still must install an OS.


  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NH-USA
    Posts
    240

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    so, that means that I would have to install XP (yes i have a legal copy), install the VM, and than re-install opensuse 11.2? I'm sorry, but now I feel even more lost.....

    ...please show mercy

    *confused*

    -cheers

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,700

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    No no no. LOL

    Install the VM in Linux then install XP in the VM.

    It is pretty straight forward once you have the VirtualBox VM installed and running.
    once started
    1) create a VM assign how much memory the VM is to use and how big of a Virtual hard drive you want.
    2) install the OS just put the CD in
    3) install the Addon drivers Not strictly requires but highly recommended.

    Done

    The Vbox manual is very good and comes with the install.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    NH-USA
    Posts
    240

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    gogalthorp-

    makes more sense LOL. Now, is there a certain partition that I need to allocate space for the virtual hard drive? I can only assume that I need to allocate space for not only programs but for XP itself....correct?

    After I install XP, would it still be possible to use a win7 ultimate upgrade?

    This sounds a lot better than wine...does VM work well with games too, or shall I leave wine for games (not that I play them lately, but learning, so I wanna know), and VM for business software/applications....?

    thanks

    -cheers

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    UTC+10
    Posts
    9,686
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    The disk of the guest OS is simulated using a file on the host OS. Choose the size adequately because it will be difficult to enlarge the "disk" later.

    As far as the guest OS goes, it thinks it's running in a real machine, except that the hardware is virtual. So it would be able to do all the things a real guest OS does, including being upgraded (but check for W7 compatibility with VBox first), catching a virus, crashing, causing consternation in users, and so forth.

    However there are some facilities of a virtual machine that you can avail yourself of, such as taking snapshots so that you can return to a previous state (pre-virus, pre-software upgrade that made your (virtual) OS go pear-shaped).

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,700

    Default Re: virtualbox version ?

    Depends on the game, 3D acceleration is not great in a VM.

    You will need to allocate space I forget where the default is but you can tell the Vbox where to put the files that hold the Vdrive. Personally I have a separate partition for my VMs, but I planned on that before I installed the OS.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •