Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: No sound output from Amarok

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default No sound output from Amarok

    I've installed all codecs according to the multimedia guide, did the package switch to Packman and still no sound from Amarok.

    Songs appear to be playing but no music plays.

    I can hear my music files with Enqueue in SMPlayer, VLC, Gnome Mplayer, Kaffeine, Mplayer, and SMPlayer.

    Running OpenSUSE 11.2, KDE 4.4.1, Amarok 2.3
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,764
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    Are we talking mp3? Other?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    Yes, mp3 files.
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,764
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    I can't really think of a reason why it will not work for you, especially considering you have success with all the other apps.
    I see you are experienced from your sig. So I'm confident you haven't overlooked anything obvious.
    You are using amarok from the factory repo and not backports aren't you?
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I can't really think of a reason why it will not work for you, especially considering you have success with all the other apps.
    I see you are experienced from your sig. So I'm confident you haven't overlooked anything obvious.
    You are using amarok from the factory repo and not backports aren't you?
    Yes it's from the 11.2 Factory repo.

    I'm going to check over at KDE forums and see if I can find anything.

    It's good that I can play my mp3's but I like Amarok.
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,764
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    You could go through RedDwarf's 10 step. Just in case.
    Tumbleweed_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    I was planning on doing that after checking KDE forums.

    There's some good people over there too.

    I'll post back with the results, good or bad.

    Thanks

    Mark
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    Reinstalled Amarok, still didn't work, deleted .kde4/share/apps/amarok/, and all the Amarok config files in .kde4/share/config/ restarted Amarok and now everything is working.

    Thanks for the replies.

    Mark
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lakeland, Florida
    Posts
    235

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    Quote Originally Posted by Knurpht View Post
    Which backend do you use. And.........does Amarok play other formats, like FLAC or OGG?
    I hardly dare to ask: did you see the volume button in Amarok?

    Knurpht, please see quote below.

    Quote Originally Posted by markcynt View Post
    Reinstalled Amarok, still didn't work, deleted .kde4/share/apps/amarok/, and all the Amarok config files in .kde4/share/config/ restarted Amarok and now everything is working.

    Thanks for the replies.

    Mark
    P5N-E SLI, Core2Duo E6850 @ 3GHZ, 2 GB DDR2 800MHZ
    EVGA 8800GTS 320MB, 2x320GB HDD
    Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    20,830
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: No sound output from Amarok

    Which backend do you use. And.........does Amarok play other formats, like FLAC or OGG?
    I hardly dare to ask: did you see the volume button in Amarok?
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •