Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Run as root?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Belgrade, Serbia
    Posts
    719

    Default Run as root?

    How do I run application as root, without using Konsole?

    Sometimes I wish to start task manager on system level, but I dont want to use console. I wish to know how, from KDE4 logged as user, run app as root.

    Thanks.
    Emil Beli
    http://www.beli.ws/blog/
    openSUSE 11.4 x64 KDE, ATI 5600, i7 dell inspire laptop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Groningen, Netherlands
    Posts
    19,768
    Blog Entries
    14

    Default Re: Run as root?

    Don't run apps as root. Root is not for applications, root is for your system, so the only time you use the superuser mode of konqueror or dolphin is when you really need them. As root it is very easy to do unrecoverable things, therefor you'd better use the root permissions only when needed.

    Since you will find out: what you want is done by 'kdesu'. Where a normal entry in the menu editor would contain "programname" or "/usr/bin/programname" as executable to run, this would become:
    Code:
    kdesu 'programname parameters'
    So, to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf, you would need:
    Code:
    EXAMPLE
    kdesu 'kwrite /etc/X11/xorg.conf'
    Add a menu entry, with clear statement in title about root perms, change executable according to the above, and that should be it.
    ° Appreciate my reply? Click the star and let me know why.

    ° Perfection is not gonna happen. No way.

    https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board#Members
    http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
    http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,982

    Default Re: Run as root?

    This is very important for you: SDB:Login as root - openSUSE

    I do not know what a "task manager" is, but I doubt that you need to run such a thing as root. MInd the word "need". Even if you can, when not realy needed, don't.
    Henk van Velden

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Bochum, Germany
    Posts
    3,587

    Default Re: Run as root?

    * beli0135 wrote, On 03/22/2010 08:46 PM:
    > Sometimes I wish to start task manager on system level, but I dont want
    > to use console.


    Why? Alt+F2, select "All processes" in the upper right corner.
    If you want to kill a process run by root, KDE will prompt you for the root password.

    Uwe

  5. #5
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: Run as root?

    beli0135 wrote:
    > Sometimes I wish to start task manager


    what is "task manager"?

    --
    palladium

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Run as root?

    Hehehe... do you guys have access to Wikipedia?

    What is a task manager?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    24,982

    Default Re: Run as root?

    Quote Originally Posted by gropiuskalle View Post
    Hehehe... do you guys have access to Wikipedia?

    What is a task manager?
    Even palladium and I know what the general definition of a Task Manager is. But palladium and I want to know exactly, precise and to the last character what the OP wants to start. Thus not "task manager", but "/usr/bin/..." or whatever. Or when the OP is not aware what (s)he is starting exactly because it is hidden behind a GUI the he could at least tell where (s)he is clicking. We want at least the name where that and only that "task manager" the OP wants to start is generaly know under. We are NOT clairvoyant.
    Henk van Velden

  8. #8
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: Run as root?

    gropiuskalle wrote:
    > Hehehe... do you guys have access to Wikipedia?


    then why didn't he just say top, atop, htop, ksysguard or whatever
    Gnome/XFCE/etc calls theirs?

    butt out, please.

    --
    palladium

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Run as root?

    Quote Originally Posted by hcvv
    Even palladium and I know what the general definition of a Task Manager is. But palladium and I want to know exactly, precise and to the last character what the OP wants to start.
    Quote Originally Posted by palladium
    then why didn't he just say top, atop, htop, ksysguard or whatever
    One would usually ask something like "which task manager / application do you want to use" or something. It appeared as if you actually do not know what the OP means. Sorry for the misunderstanding, but this...

    butt out, please.
    ...is just a little to brash for me. Please stop acting as if you were my arch-enemy or something, palladium. There's no reason to feel attacked after every comment I make.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Run as root?

    Folks. Calm down please. The OP hasn't even replied since the #1 post.
    Why don't we wait and see if he replies and stop all the Willy Wagging
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •