Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Compiz & no menu bars

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin North America
    Posts
    222

    Default Compiz & no menu bars

    I have opensuse 11.2 64 bit with the latest Nvidia drivers on a Gnome desktop; out of the box compiz 7.8 worked great. I had no intention of upgrading but I did with the upgrade to 8.4. Everything upgraded fine except I lost my menu bars on all screens when they were opened. I downgraded back down to 7.8 and still the same issue. Right now I have no compiz on so I can have have my menu bars. There is something I must be missing when I installed or reinstalled or upgraded compiz. I would like to get an original compiz setup that a fresh install gives.
    All the virtuous deeds and merit ... can be destroyed by just one moment of anger.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    Hi,

    Just to be sure, when you say "menu bars" are you referring to the window title bars? If so, it might be a problem with the windows decorator setup. If you're referring to the actual menus, then I have no idea whatsoever what it might be...

    Start Compiz Config (ccsm) and check the window decoration plugin. It should be enabled. There's a command box that should have the following command if you're using regular Metacity themes: gtk-window-decorator --replace

    If you want to use Emerald as window decorator, then the command should be: emerald --replace. As far as I know, you'll need to have the compiz-emerald package installed for this to work. That package is available in the XGL repo: http://software.opensuse.org/ymp/X11...iz-emerald.ymp

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,822
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    Quote Originally Posted by the Dude abides
    I have opensuse 11.2 64 bit with the latest Nvidia drivers on a Gnome
    desktop; out of the box compiz 7.8 worked great. I had no intention of
    upgrading but I did with the upgrade to 8.4. Everything upgraded fine
    except I lost my menu bars on all screens when they were opened. I
    downgraded back down to 7.8 and still the same issue. Right now I have
    no compiz on so I can have have my menu bars. There is something I must
    be missing when I installed or reinstalled or upgraded compiz. I would
    like to get an original compiz setup that a fresh install gives.
    Hi
    Sounds like the config got messed up. If you open CompizConfig Settings
    manager, look for the item 'Window Decoration' under Effects. Is this
    checked (if not check it)? There are probably others you need to add...

    Another way is via Control Center -> Desktop Effects and in the
    dropdown select something other than default and see what happens.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 4 days 14:26, 4 users, load average: 0.15, 0.19, 0.18
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin North America
    Posts
    222

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    Sorry I wasn't clear enough, when I say window menu bar, I mean the top of any window you open, which gives you the ability to minimize and maximize and close out the window.

    I tried as the both of you suggested, the Window Decoration was enabled and I tried changing the command line and adjusting different effects, restart etc. even with no effects enabled I still get the issue

    One thing I notice, if I remove simple ccms the problem goes away and I get my window menu bar back and if I reinstall simple ccms the issue comes back I lose the window menu bar.

    Is there a dependency I may be missing that is making the ccms work improperly.
    All the virtuous deeds and merit ... can be destroyed by just one moment of anger.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,822
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    Quote Originally Posted by the Dude abides
    Sorry I wasn't clear enough, when I say window menu bar, I mean the top
    of any window you open, which gives you the ability to minimize and
    maximize and close out the window.

    I tried as the both of you suggested, the Window Decoration was enabled
    and I tried changing the command line and adjusting different effects,
    restart etc. even with no effects enabled I still get the issue

    One thing I notice, if I remove simple ccms the problem goes away and I
    get my window menu bar back and if I reinstall simple ccms the issue
    comes back I lose the window menu bar.

    Is there a dependency I may be missing that is making the ccms work
    improperly.
    Hi
    In YaST (I use the qt interface, you can set via the /etc/sysconfig
    editor -> Yast -> wanted GUI) and search on ccsm and check the version
    tab does it match you compiz selection? If it doesn't select the
    appropriate check box (radio button).

    Another way is to select the repositories and select the @system one,
    here you can scroll through the list and look for the compiz ones and
    change so it all matches up via the versions tab.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 4 days 17:10, 4 users, load average: 0.57, 0.22, 0.12
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin North America
    Posts
    222

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    I worked around a bit. When starting a new session if I have the desktop effects enabled to ultimate I don't have my menu bars on my windows as stated earlier. If I un-enable the desktop effects, for the current session, until I logout, I get the desktop effects and my menu bars on my windows (they magically appear). When I log back in to start a new session the desktop effects are off as expected and I have no menu bars on my windows.
    All the virtuous deeds and merit ... can be destroyed by just one moment of anger.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,822
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    Quote Originally Posted by the Dude abides
    I worked around a bit. When starting a new session if I have the desktop
    effects enabled to ultimate I don't have my menu bars on my windows as
    stated earlier. If I un-enable the desktop effects, for the current
    session, until I logout, I get the desktop effects and my menu bars on
    my windows (they magically appear). When I log back in to start a new
    session the desktop effects are off as expected and I have no menu bars
    on my windows.
    Hi
    Create a test user and login, does the problem follow?

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 4 days 20:00, 4 users, load average: 0.20, 0.16, 0.16
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,743

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    Have you looked at you repositories?

    Post
    zypper lr -d

    Possibly incompatible libs from different repos

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin North America
    Posts
    222

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    The test user works perfectly with the desktop settings. No issues.
    All the virtuous deeds and merit ... can be destroyed by just one moment of anger.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,743

    Default Re: Compiz & no menu bars

    So looks like something is messed up in your Gnome config files.

    If you upgraded from a previous version of the OS all sorts of junk can get left over.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •