Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Switching work spaces

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    127

    Default Switching work spaces

    I have recently installed a fresh copy of openSUSE because of many reasons. On my old one, I could drag windows into other workspaces, and it would look like a cube when it goes from one to another. I can't seem to find the option for that. Can anyone advise me where to look? I've been looking at compiz etc.

    Also, there is a delay whilst the windows open, is there an option where I can shorten that delay?

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Switching work spaces

    For me in kde4 using KWIN, not compiz
    It's super quick

    Are you kde or gnome?
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Switching work spaces

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    For me in kde4 using KWIN, not compiz
    It's super quick

    Are you kde or gnome?
    I'm in GNOME. Sorry, I thought I'd said that, but I didn't.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Switching work spaces

    Hopefully a Gnome user will come to your rescue
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Switching work spaces

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    Hopefully a Gnome user will come to your rescue
    Okay lol thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    26,668
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Switching work spaces

    Quote Originally Posted by milojb
    caf4926;2139708 Wrote:
    > Hopefully a Gnome user will come to your rescue


    Okay lol thanks
    Hi
    In the control center, it's desktop effects. On the last tab called
    'edges' here you can select the edges to rotate the cube.

    There should also be an application installed called CompizConfig
    Settings Manager where you can fine tune your requirements. If not, use
    YaST to search on compiz and install.

    I also recommend going into YaST and installing the compiz extras for
    additional effects if you require.

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 3 days 9:29, 4 users, load average: 0.06, 0.04, 0.01
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    ENGLAND
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Switching work spaces

    Thank you. all sorted now,

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Switching work spaces

    Quote Originally Posted by milojb View Post
    Thank you. all sorted now,
    Well done
    All hail @malcolmlewis
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •