Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Sensors on new motherboard

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Sensors on new motherboard

    I just recently changed my motherboard, and now the command "sensors" shows "no sensors detected"

    I ran sensors-detect but still i get no sensors detected.

    Any help appreciated, it must be something really simple actually.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    could be that there is no sensorchip on your mb, although that is pretty rare these days or that it is a new one that sensors not yet detects, did you check if there is a newer version of sensors ?

    Download – lm-sensors

  3. #3
    palladium NNTP User

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    try a search on google with something like this:

    [CODE]
    linux sensors (motherboard brand/model)
    [CODE]

    where you enter main board info inside of quotes, like this:

    "ASUS P6TD Deluxe" or "Intel D955XBK" etc

    or, just use google to find the exact specs of the board, and read
    what sensor capability is included, if any..

    --
    palladium

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    Im pretty sure it has Sensor capabilities, its and MSI K9A2 CF, 790X Chipset. Ive got latest sensors package for opensuse 3.1.1 i think.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    Code:
    dhcppc2:/home/gabriel # sensors-detect
    # sensors-detect revision 5729 (2009-06-02 15:51:29 +0200)
    # System: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO.,LTD MS-7388        
    
    This program will help you determine which kernel modules you need
    to load to use lm_sensors most effectively. It is generally safe  
    and recommended to accept the default answers to all questions,   
    unless you know what you're doing.                                
    
    Some south bridges, CPUs or memory controllers contain embedded sensors.
    Do you want to scan for them? This is totally safe. (YES/no):           
    Silicon Integrated Systems SIS5595...                       No          
    VIA VT82C686 Integrated Sensors...                          No          
    VIA VT8231 Integrated Sensors...                            No          
    AMD K8 thermal sensors...                                   No          
    AMD K10 thermal sensors...                                  Success!    
        (driver `to-be-written')                                            
    Intel Core family thermal sensor...                         No          
    Intel AMB FB-DIMM thermal sensor...                         No          
    VIA C7 thermal and voltage sensors...                       No          
    
    Some Super I/O chips contain embedded sensors. We have to write to
    standard I/O ports to probe them. This is usually safe.           
    Do you want to scan for Super I/O sensors? (YES/no):              
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x2e/0x2f                                
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No    
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No    
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'...                       No    
    Trying family `ITE'...                                      No    
    Probing for Super-I/O at 0x4e/0x4f                                
    Trying family `National Semiconductor'...                   No    
    Trying family `SMSC'...                                     No    
    Trying family `VIA/Winbond/Fintek'...                       Yes   
    Found `Fintek F71882FG/F71883FG Super IO Sensors'           Success!
        (address 0x600, driver `f71882fg')                              
    
    Some systems (mainly servers) implement IPMI, a set of common interfaces
    through which system health data may be retrieved, amongst other things.
    We first try to get the information from SMBIOS. If we don't find it    
    there, we have to read from arbitrary I/O ports to probe for such       
    interfaces. This is normally safe. Do you want to scan for IPMI         
    interfaces? (YES/no):                                                   
    Probing for `IPMI BMC KCS' at 0xca0...                      No          
    Probing for `IPMI BMC SMIC' at 0xca8...                     No          
    
    Some hardware monitoring chips are accessible through the ISA I/O ports.
    We have to write to arbitrary I/O ports to probe them. This is usually  
    safe though. Yes, you do have ISA I/O ports even if you do not have any 
    ISA slots! Do you want to scan the ISA I/O ports? (yes/NO):             
    
    Lastly, we can probe the I2C/SMBus adapters for connected hardware
    monitoring devices. This is the most risky part, and while it works
    reasonably well on most systems, it has been reported to cause trouble
    on some systems.                                                      
    Do you want to probe the I2C/SMBus adapters now? (YES/no):
    Using driver `i2c-piix4' for device 0000:00:14.0: ATI Technologies Inc SB600 SMBus
    Module i2c-dev loaded successfully.
    
    Now follows a summary of the probes I have just done.
    Just press ENTER to continue:
    
    Driver `to-be-written':
      * Chip `AMD K10 thermal sensors' (confidence: 9)
    
    Driver `f71882fg':
      * ISA bus, address 0x600
        Chip `Fintek F71882FG/F71883FG Super IO Sensors' (confidence: 9)
    
    Note: there is no driver for AMD K10 thermal sensors yet.
    Check http://www.lm-sensors.org/wiki/Devices for updates.
    
    Do you want to overwrite /etc/sysconfig/lm_sensors? (YES/no):
    Unloading i2c-dev... OK

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    28,090
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    Quote Originally Posted by assas1n
    Im pretty sure it has Sensor capabilities, its and MSI K9A2 CF, 790X
    Chipset. Ive got latest sensors package for opensuse 3.1.1 i think.
    Hi
    Does it have the f71882fg chipset? What is the output from the command
    lsmod?

    http://ixbtlabs.com/articles3/mainbo...2-cf-790x.html

    Google on F71882FG+lm_sensors

    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 1 day 13:04, 3 users, load average: 0.29, 0.13, 0.10
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    Code:
    gabriel@dhcppc2:~> lsmod
    Module                  Size  Used by
    iptable_filter          4520  0      
    ip_tables              24536  1 iptable_filter
    x_tables               30768  1 ip_tables     
    pppoe                  16816  2               
    pppox                   4744  1 pppoe         
    ppp_generic            35104  6 pppoe,pppox   
    slhc                    7656  1 ppp_generic   
    snd_pcm_oss            60032  0               
    snd_mixer_oss          22728  1 snd_pcm_oss   
    snd_seq                78560  0               
    snd_seq_device         10460  1 snd_seq       
    edd                    13232  0               
    af_packet              28680  2               
    cpufreq_conservative    10360  0              
    cpufreq_userspace       4364  0               
    cpufreq_powersave       2152  0               
    powernow_k8            19340  0               
    fuse                   87984  1               
    loop                   22292  0               
    dm_mod                101544  0               
    snd_hda_codec_atihdmi     5352  1             
    snd_hda_codec_realtek   318124  1             
    snd_hda_intel          37184  6               
    amd64_edac_mod         39392  0               
    joydev                 14400  0               
    snd_hda_codec         111112  3 snd_hda_codec_atihdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
    pcspkr                  3720  0                                                          
    sr_mod                 20964  0                                                          
    snd_hwdep              11216  1 snd_hda_codec                                            
    snd_pcm               117808  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec                  
    i2c_piix4              16088  0                                                          
    snd_timer              32152  3 snd_seq,snd_pcm                                          
    edac_core              60788  1 amd64_edac_mod                                           
    cdrom                  48232  1 sr_mod
    fglrx                2313624  29
    sg                     40128  0
    snd                    97608  20 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
    r8169                  46412  0
    snd_page_alloc         12600  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    wmi                     9600  0
    button                  8360  0
    ext4                  426008  2
    jbd2                  115712  1 ext4
    crc16                   2504  1 ext4
    fan                     6352  0
    processor              56932  1 powernow_k8
    ide_pci_generic         5484  0
    atiixp                  5004  0
    ide_core              148064  2 ide_pci_generic,atiixp
    ata_generic             6508  0
    thermal                25160  0
    thermal_sys            21888  3 fan,processor,thermal
    pata_atiixp             6952  0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Podunk
    Posts
    28,090
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    Hi
    Did you try a modprobe on the driver?
    Code:
    sudo /sbin/modprobe/f71882fg
    sensors
    Any output from;
    Code:
    acpi -V
    --
    Cheers Malcolm (Linux Counter #276890)
    SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 2.6.27.45-0.1-default
    up 1 day 15:33, 4 users, load average: 0.27, 0.14, 0.10
    GPU GeForce 8600 GTS Silent - CUDA Driver Version: 190.53


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    Code:
    gabriel@dhcppc2:~> acpi -V
    No support for device type: battery
    No support for device type: thermal
    No support for device type: ac_adapter
    Didnt quite understand about modprobing, i pasted that command on my Konsole but it said "its not a directory"

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Santiago, Chile
    Posts
    648

    Default Re: Sensors on new motherboard

    Code:
    gabriel@dhcppc2:~> acpi -V
    No support for device type: battery
    No support for device type: thermal
    No support for device type: ac_adapter
    Didnt quite understand about modprobing, i pasted that command on my Konsole but it said "its not a directory"


    Code:
    dhcppc2:/sbin # modprobe sensors
    FATAL: Module sensors not found.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •