Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Virtualbox Issue

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Virtualbox Issue

    Hi,

    I'm using openSUSE 11.2 GNOME, and when I start Virtualbox and try to add the virtual hard disk I see it opens the KDE style file browser. I know its QT based application but if I use same version in Ubuntu or Fedora it opens the GTK file browser also its look&feel and behavior is not good in openSUSE GNOME.

    Does anybody know, why its different in openSUSE gnome compare to Fedora or Ubuntu?

    Regards,
    Anant

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Virtualbox Issue

    The VirtualBox GUI is QT based. This shouldn't cause problems. I haven't used VB in the distros you mention, but it's possible they've provided a GTK-based frontend.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: Virtualbox Issue

    Hi chief_sealth,

    Well I know its QT based and there is no GTK front-end for VirtualBox, but there is a big time difference between opensuse version and Fedora version for GNOME.

    Regards,
    Anant

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,733
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Virtualbox Issue

    I have used Virtual Box in Fedora and don't recall it being any different, mind I was using kde even there.
    It shouldn't affect how well it performs
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    1,376

    Default Re: Virtualbox Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by anantg View Post
    Well I know its QT based and there is no GTK front-end for VirtualBox, but there is a big time difference between opensuse version and Fedora version for GNOME.
    Caf is right, there shouldn't be any performance issues. What's the guest OS? Is it the same as on Fedora and Gnome? Where are you finding the time lapse?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: Virtualbox Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by caf4926 View Post
    I have used Virtual Box in Fedora and don't recall it being any different, mind I was using kde even there.
    It shouldn't affect how well it performs
    Hi Caf,

    Well there is no performance issue, I'm talking about the look & feel. I use openSUSE Gnome (no KDE) on one of my computer and Fedora on another and default is Gnome. When I install VirtualBox on openSUSE (GNOME) it uses KDE style file open box whereas on Fedora it opens Nautilus File Browser also sometime I feel rendering issue on openSUSE that I really cant explain, but file browser is definitely different.

    Regards,
    Anant

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •