Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Move SUSE hard drive to new PC

Default Move SUSE hard drive to new PC

OK, I'm new at this. This may be easy for you, but I'm clueless.

I came in this morning only to find that the Intel Core2 hyperthreading Dell machine is dead. It appears the processor is fried.

I have a new white-box X2 system that I will replace the dead Dell with. The X2 (AMD) does not have a hard-drive (HDD) so, I will simply put the SATA hard-drive into the PC.

Some of you may know how to do this, but I don't know where to begin after I get the Hard-drive in. (I know how to move a Windows configuration from one PC to another and handle it as it begins to blue screen (BSOD), but I don't have a clue with Linux)

This system was built with GRUB. At the very least, I expect the GRUB boot managet to surface on the display. But, what next....

I was testing an OpenSuse setup as a server. Nothing fancy and NO applications added. The only customization was the MB's LAN card and the display was set at 1024x768. I had 2 users, root and myself.

1. What would you do?
    2. Is there some boot time options that I should follow?

Thansk in advance...

Default Re: Move SUSE hard drive to new PC

As you have new hardware, I would say that a new install is needed. When it comes to the partitioning part, let it use the old partitioning of the disk. Let it reformat (create new file system) the partition to be used for /, but LET IT NOT create a file system the partition that was used for /home. Only see that it is mounted again at /home.

This is of course only valid when you have a seperate /home (how handy to have it). When not the restore the /home dat from your backup after installation. (You can still create a backup by using a live CD).