Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida,USA
    Posts
    80

    Default Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    Hello there, this is my first post to the forum!!

    yeah, I'm not so happy about that though.
    Truth is I've always found answers through google or in the wikki, but this time I'm at my wits end.

    The culprit is KDE's desktop effects; I cant get compiz to work properly with it. I want to configure Compiz with the default configuration manager, and to use the flat-backend, not KDE's.

    KDE has it's own compiz implementation and it wont let you use compiz properly.

    My question is, how can I remove the desktop effects, (remove not disable) and enable the compiz configuration manager to work properly, like it does in gnome or in KDE 3.5

    I'm sorry but I find the new KDE desktop effects rather annoying.

    please any help would be much appreciated.


    thanks.








    A small gift: (for those who like this music). YouTube - Paul Oakenfold ft Delerium - The Silence (Tiësto Remix)

    rather old, but can't help to listen it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    USA Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,287

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    Also, don't forget to remove any packages you may already have. Unless you're using both Gnome and KDE and you already have compiz installed. Then just move on to setting compiz as your window manager.


    [*Note: I still have to update that how-to to include using factory repositories as I did with 11.1. Look for some changes coming along caf.]

    [EDIT: Nevermind it doesn't add any extra repositories for KDE so it's still good as it is. It's still missing the emerald package though so that still needs to be downloaded manually]

    Take Care,

    Ian
    Last edited by ijbreakey; 25-Feb-2010 at 23:00. Reason: Added info
    Laptop: Dell Inspiron E1505 | OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows Vista | KDE | Intel CPU T2050 1.6 GHz | Intel 945GM | 3.2GB RAM
    Box: OpenSUSE 12.1/Windows 7 | KDE | Intel Core 2 Quad 8300 2.5GHz/core | nVidia Geforce 9500GT 1GB| 4 GB RAM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    [*Note: I still have to update that how-to to include using factory repositories as I did with 11.1. Look for some changes coming along caf.]
    Noted Ian thanks
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    West Virginia Sector 13
    Posts
    15,652

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    I'd like to note that you do not need compiz with KDE any more all the effects are now built into the desktop. Installing compiz will just screw things up.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by gogalthorp View Post
    I'd like to note that you do not need compiz with KDE any more all the effects are now built into the desktop. Installing compiz will just screw things up.
    I concur with you on this
    I wouldn't install it either. You'll loose kde-pure and have a load of gnome 'stuff' installed.
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Berlin
    Posts
    2,061

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    Gnome? KDE-pure???

    There are some huge differences between Compiz and the KDE-Effects, by the way, so I think it's valid to prefer one to the other.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    The English Lake District. UK - GMT/BST
    Posts
    36,729
    Blog Entries
    20

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by gropiuskalle View Post
    Gnome? KDE-pure???
    Are you asking for an explanation?

    Quote Originally Posted by gropiuskalle View Post
    There are some huge differences between Compiz and the KDE-Effects, by the way, so I think it's valid to prefer one to the other.
    True
    I prefer kde's kwin
    Leap 15.1_KDE
    My Articles Was I any help? If yes: Click the star below

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Florida,USA
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: Compiz,KDE and HELL!!!!!!

    Thank you for taking the time to write that guide, (And calf for pointing it)

    I found the solution to my problems on point # 13.

    "13.) For KDE4 users, To set compiz as the default window manager open Configure Desktop (Personal Settings). Then click Default Applications. Click Window Manager and choose Use a different window manager. Use the drop down menu to choose Compiz (not Compiz custom)."

    This accomlished waht compiz --replace didnt, it disabled the intrusive KDE effects, and let compiz fusion to take ownership.

    Again thank you all.


    *Note: By the way, the links to the fglrx drivers(the one click install thingy) are broken, both files fail a hashcheck while downloading. May want to look into that, maybe its just me but maybe not...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •