Thread: problem with running stardict

Default problem with running stardict

Hello everyone,

yesterday I've downloaded and installed the dictionary software called "stardict", I've downloaded for openSUSE:11.2/standard version and used 1-click install for avoid any dependency issues, so it downloaded a lot of stuff in amount of about ~200MB (!!!) a huge number of Perl libraries and it's own tools for proper working (I think so), it also added several repositories in my repo list, the main repo was Education - Index of /repositories/Education/openSUSE_11.2

So, I think I've done everything right, as YaST gave me installation report that everything finished successfully, but the problem began when I tried to run this dictionary. It just hanged up with its splashscreen. Well, as I'm new in linux (though I know that no extra restarts are needed to run newly installed software) but anyways, I've rebooted my NotePC but without any success.

Here's my hardware and software details, I have IBM Laptop X40, it has Intel chipset and everything is Intel's including Wi-Fi and VGA. I'm running openSUSE 11.2 x86 (32-bit operating system) and I think 1-click install could manage to identify my operating system and had downloaded the proper version of packages, so what's the problem? I also tried to run stardict from console, to see if there're some dependency problems (as I solved the similar problem with skype such way, there was lack of some packages), it gives this messages in console:

"WordNet dict rendering plug-in loaded.
    HTML data parsing plug-in loaded."

Can anyone help me? As I really need dictionary since I'm from Georgia and English is not my native language, I hoped to use EN to RUS dictionary, as I know Russian better then English. I do know the repositories other then OSS and non-OSS are not verified by developer team and I use it on my own risk, but maybe someone also has the same problem and had resolved it already.